Looking for early info on this year’s JRA Cup? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

JRA Cup, Moonee Valley

Run over 2,400 metres, the JRA Cup is a Group 3 race taking place at Moonee Valley Racecourse on A.J. Moir Stakes Night under the lights on a Friday evening in late September. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts a quality field of potential Cox Plate or Moonee Valley Gold Cup hopefuls. 

JRA Cup 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Friday, September 25th, 2020
  • Track Location: Moonee Valley Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Qualification: Open
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1993
  • 2020 JRA Cup Winner: TBD


The official 2020 JRA Cup results will be available below once the race takes place on Friday September 25, 2020. 

  1. TBD
  2. TBD
  3. TBD

JRA Cup Betting

New Ways to Bet at neds

There are many different ways to bet on the JRA Cup, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s JRA Cup
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s JRA Cup.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s JRA Cup. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the JRA Cup, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the JRA Cup, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the JRA Cup to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the JRA Cup to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the JRA Cup to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the JRA Cup, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The JRA Cup

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on JRA Cup Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

JRA Cup 2020 Odds

Early market odds on the 2020 JRA Cup will be displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the JRA Cup here once betting opens.

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The JRA Cup

The best way to pick who will win the JRA Cup is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Lead Up – The Naturalism Stakes, held at Caulfield the week before at Caulfield may serve as a nice lead-up into the JRA Cup.
  • Valley Factor – Horses well-suited to the tight Moonee Valley circuit make a good bet in the race.
  • Staying Value – Looking for horses with staying form over 2000m and further is key as opposed to milers stepping-up in distance.

JRA Cup 2020 Favourites

Early favourites in 2020 JRA Cup betting will be listed here the week of the race. 

JRA Cup 2020 Field

The official JRA Cup 2020 field of final acceptances is announced by the Moonee Valley Racing Club (MVRC) the Wednesday of race week and will be published below.

JRA Cup 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBA

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Our exclusive JRA Cup 2020 tips will be detailed above the week of the race and a full betting preview available on the Neds Blog.


The JRA Cup takes place under the lights at Moonee Valley Racecourse as part of A.J. Moir Stakes Night on Friday, September 25th, 2020. Moir Stakes Night is headlined by the Group 1 A.J. Moir Stakes (1000m) and also features the:

JRA Cup 2020 Barrier Draw

The 2020 JRA Cup barrier draw takes place on the Wednesday leading-up to the race and will be published in our above JRA Cup Field section. 

JRA Cup 2020 Nominations

Nominations close by 12:00 PM on Monday, the 21st of September, 2020.

JRA Cup 2020 Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 21st of September, 2020 with final weights to be published in our above JRA Cup Field section.

JRA Cup 2020 Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 23rd of September, 2020 and will be published in our above JRA Cup Field section.

JRA Cup 2020 Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 23rd of September, 2020 will be published in our above JRA Cup Field section.

JRA Cup 2020 Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Friday, the 26th of September, 2020. 

JRA Cup Prize Money

The JRA Cup prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $120,000
2nd $36,000
3rd $18,000
4th $9,000
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $4,000
8th $4,000

JRA Cup Race Number

The JRA Cup is likely to run as Race 6 on Moir Stakes Night, Friday September 25, 2020. There are eight races in total that evening at Moonee Valley Racecourse for the twilight meet.

JRA Cup 2020 Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s JRA Cup has been released.

JRA Cup Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 JRA Cup live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

JRA Cup Winners

Winners of the JRA Cup going back to 2000 are displayed in the table below. 

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Captain Cook Chris Waller Linda Meech 54 kgs 2:06.45
2018 The Taj Mahal Liam Howley Ben Melham 58.5 kgs 2:05.37
2017 Jon Snow Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman Stephen Baster 59 kgs 2:07.12
2016 Real Love Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 58 kgs 2:05.76
2015 Escado Matt Laurie Ben Melham 56.5 kgs 2:05.88
2014 The Cleaner Mick Burles Steven Arnold 59 kgs 2:05.99
2013 Mourinho Peter Gelagotis Craig Newitt 54 kgs 2:06.14
2012 Bianmick Michael Brady Darren Gauci 54 kgs 2:06.66
2011 Dream Pedlar Troy Blacker Craig Newitt 54.5 kgs 2:08.71
2010 Precedence Bart Cummings Blake Shinn 55 kgs 2:05.31
2009 Alcopop Jake Stephens Dom Tourneur 53 kgs 2:08.41
2008 Cefalu Lee Freedman Luke Nolen 54.5 kgs 2:05.99
2007 Maldivian Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 56 kgs 2:05.85
2006 Pavlova Cliff Brown Ben Melham 53 kgs 2:07.00
2005 El Segundo Colin Little Darren Gauci 52.5 kgs 2:07.54
2004 Beswinging Louise Bonella Dale Smith 52.5 kgs 2:12.82
2003 General Booth Tony Vasil Damien Oliver 55 kgs 2:06.74
2002 Cheverny Guy Walter Glen Boss 52.5 kgs 2:07.51
2001 Rain Gauge George Hanlon Greg Childs 53.5 kgs 2:06.29
2000 Prince Benbara Tony Rosolini Brett Prebble 51.5 kgs 2:07.38