Tancred Stakes

Tancred Stakes, Rosehill Gardens

Looking for early info on this year’s Tancred Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 2,400 metres each year on Easter Saturday, the Tancred Stakes  is a Group 1 race with a $1,500,000 prize purse. It attracts some of Australia’s long distance runners, with many international entrants.

If you’re looking for a nice lead in to this race, look no further than the 1,500 metre Ranvet Stakes, taking place two weeks earlier.

The winner of this race is exempt from the ballot of the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, as well as the Sydney Cup.

For its first sixteen years, the race had been held as a Principal Race. For over 30 years, it has been held as a Group 1 race.

The race has a long history of sponsorship by automotive companies. Past sponsors include BMW, Mercedes-Benz and Kia.

Tancred Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, March 30th, 2019
  • Track Location: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 1
  • Operator: Australian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $1,500,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1963

Tancred Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Tancred Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Tancred Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Tancred Stakes .
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Tancred Stakes . Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Tancred Stakes , you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Tancred Stakes , in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Tancred Stakes  to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Tancred Stakes  to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Tancred Stakes  to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Tancred Stakes , in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Tancred Stakes

  1. Join up at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Tancred Stakes  Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Tancred Stakes  2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2018 edition of the Tancred Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 07/03/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).=

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Tancred Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Tancred Stakes  is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Fierce Fours – Four year olds have tended to dominate this race, winning nearly half of the time in the past 12 years.
  • Lucky Barrier – Gate four has produced more winners than any other over the past 40 years.

Tancred Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include Avilius, Almandin, Youngstar and Ace High.

Tancred Stakes  2019 Field

The field limit is 14. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer

Tancred Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: Avilius

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Tancred Stakes  Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 30th of March, 2019.

Tancred Stakes  Barrier Draw

The 2018 Tancred Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Tancred Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11 AM on Monday the 25th of March, 2019.

Tancred Stakes Weights

Standard weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Tuesday the 26th of March, 2019.

Tancred Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9 AM on Wednesday the 27th of March, 2019.

Tancred Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12 PM on Wednesday the 27th of March, 2019.

Tancred Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday the 30th of March, 2019.

Tancred Stakes Prize Money

The Tancred Stakes  prize purse is worth $1,500,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $870,000
2nd $285,000
3rd $145,000
4th $70,000
5th $35,000
6th $15,000
7th $15,000
8th $15,000
9th $10,000
10th $10,000

Tancred Stakes Race Number

Tancred Stakes  is race number 1 on the 30th of March, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Tancred Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Tancred Stakes  has been released.

Tancred Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Tancred Stakes  live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Tancred Stakes Winners

Winners of the Tancred Stakes  for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. For a full list of winners going back to 1963, please check our Tancred Stakes  winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Almandin Liam Howley Kerrin McEvoy 59 kgs 2:30.11
2017 Jameka Ciaron Maher Hugh Bowman 56.5 kgs 2:35.65
2016 Preferment Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 58.5 kgs 2:28.68
2015 Hartnell John O’Shea James McDonald 57.5 kgs 2:29.50
2014 Silent Achiever Roger James Nash Rawiller 57 kgs 2:34.29
2013 Fiveandahalfstar Anthony Cummings Hugh Bowman 54.5 kgs 2:33.79
2012 Manighar Peter Moody Luke Nolen 59 kgs 2:28.32
2011 Cedarberg Pat Carey Damien Oliver 58.5 kgs 2:29.78
2010 Littorio Nigel Blackiston Craig Williams 59 kgs 2:29.38
2009 Fiumicino Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Darren Beadman 59 kgs 2:34.25
2008 Tuesday Joy Gai Waterhouse Darren Beadman 56 kgs 2:35.81
2007 Blutigeroo Colin Little Damien Oliver 59 kgs 2:26.56
2006 Eremein Allan Denham Glen Boss 57.5 kgs 2:27.00
2005 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman Glen Boss 55.5 kgs 2:26.99
2004 Grand Zulu Gwenda Markwell Rod Quinn 53.5 kgs 2:25.78
2003 Freemason John Hawkes Darren Beadman 58 kgs 2:26.82
2002 Ethereal Sheila Laxon Scott Seamer 55 kgs 2:29.31
2001 Curata Storm John Hawkes Rod Quinn 53.5 kgs 2:27.77
2000 Tie The Knot Guy Walter Shane Dye 58 kgs 2:30.83