Stutt Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Stutt Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Stutt Stakes, Moonee Valley

Run over 1,600 metres, the Stutt Stakes is a Group 2 race taking place at Moonee Valley Racecourse. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts its fair share of mid distance runners.

Named after Bill Stutt, the former chairman of the Moonee Valley Racing Club, this race was previously known as the Moonee Valley Stakes. Originally a Principal Race, this race was upgraded to Group 2 status in 1979.

This race serves as a reasonable lead up into the Caulfield Guineas.

Stutt Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Friday, September 27th, 2019
  • Track Location: Moonee Valley Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,600 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1934

Stutt Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Stutt Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Stutt Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Stutt Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Stutt Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Stutt Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Stutt Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Stutt Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Stutt Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Stutt Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Stutt Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Stutt Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Stutt Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Stutt Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Stutt Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 23/09/2019, prior to acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Stutt Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Stutt Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Local Legends – Melbourne horses, usually those with winning form at 1400 metres or more, are your best chance.
  • Favourites – The odds on favourite usually dominates this race.

Stutt Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Stutt Stakes 2019 Field

Once nominations are released. we will display the 16 most likely runners to make the field below.

Stutt Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBA

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Stutt Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Friday, the 27th of September, 2019.

Stutt Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Stutt Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Stutt Stakes Nominations

Nominations close by 12:00 PM on Monday, the 23rd of September, 2019.

Stutt Stakes Weights

Set weights apply to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 23rd of September, 2019.

Stutt Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 25th of September, 2019.

Stutt Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 25th of
September, 2019.

Stutt Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Friday, the 27th of September, 2019.

Stutt Stakes Prize Money

The Stutt Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $120,000
2nd $36,000
3rd $18,000
4th $9,000
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $4,000
8th $4,000

Stutt Stakes Race Number

The Stutt Stakes is race number 2 on the Friday, the 27th of September, 2019. There are eight races in total that day at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

Stutt Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Stutt Stakes has been released.

Stutt Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Stutt Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Stutt Stakes Winners

Winners of the Stutt Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. 

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Leonardo Da Hinchi Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 57 kgs 1:37.51
2017 Showtime Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Beau Mertens 57 kgs 1:37.14
2016 Hey Doc Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 57 kgs 1:37.41
2015 Sovereign Nation David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Michael Walker 57 kgs 1:36.17
2014 Almalad Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 57 kgs 1:38.83
2013 Divine Calling Gai Waterhouse Damien Oliver 57 kgs 1:37.29
2012 Pierro Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 57 kgs 1:36.31
2011 Chase The Rainbow Rick Hore-Lacy Dean Yendall 57 kgs 1:38.31
2010 Hollowlea Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Blake Shinn 57 kgs 1:37.29
2009 Carrara Tony Vasil Craig Williams 57 kgs 1:39.50
2008 Whobegotyou Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 55.5 kgs 1:36.37
2007 Barbaricus Danny O’Brien Steven Arnold 55.5 kgs 1:36.03
2006 Churchill Downs David Hayes Craig Williams 55.5 kgs 1:36.72
2005 Red Dazzler Mick Price Danny Nikolic 55.5 kgs 1:38.09
2004 Mr Martini Leon Corstens Stephen Baster 55.5 kgs 1:37.82
2003 Casual Pass Mathew Ellerton Noel Callow 55.5 kgs 1:37.24
2002 Helenus Leon Corstens Steven King 55.5 kgs 1:39.63
2001 Viscount John Hawkes Kerrin McEvoy 55.5 kgs 1:38.12
2000 Sarson Trail Peter Hayes Stephen Baster 55.5 kgs 1:38.75
1999 Diatribe George Hanlon Greg Hall 55.5 kgs 1:36.94