Rubiton Stakes

Rubiton Stakes, Caulfield Racecourse

Run over 1,100 metres each year in February, the Rubiton Stakes is a Group 2 race, held during the Autumn carnival. With a two hundred thousand dollar prize purse, it’s sure to attract some great local talent.

This race is well placed as a lead in to the Oakleigh Plate, run at the very same distance just two week later. Also at Caulfield Racecourse, the Oakleigh plate pays out twice as much.

The status of this race has changed a few times. For the first 2 years, it was run as a listed race, followed by being upgraded to a Group 3 race for the next two decades. From 2013 onwards, is has been Group 2.

Rubiton Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 8th, 2020
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,100 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (with penalties)
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1989

Rubiton Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Rubiton Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Rubiton Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Rubiton Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Rubiton Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Rubiton Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Rubiton Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Rubiton Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Rubiton Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Rubiton Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Rubiton Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The RubiTon Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Rubiton Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Rubiton Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Rubiton Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 18/12/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Rubiton Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Rubiton Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Small Field – Last year’s race only drew 8 runners. Makes for easy place betting, albeit with a lesser payout.
  • Local Sprinters – If they run around Melbourne and do well between 1000 and 1200 metres, than they’re perfectly suited to this race.
  • Spring Revival – Some horses might be using this as their first race after a post-Spring spell. Look out for any horse who cleaned up in last year’s Spring Carnival.

Rubiton Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Rubiton Stakes 2020 Field

The field limit is 16. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Rubiton Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Rubiton Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 8th of February, 2020.

Rubiton Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Rubiton Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Rubiton Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12:00 PM on Monday, the 3rd of February, 2020.

Rubiton Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Monday, the 3rd of February, 2020.

Rubiton Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 5th of February, 2020.

Rubiton Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 5th of February, 2020.

Rubiton Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 8th of February, 2020.

Rubiton Stakes Prize Money

The Rubiton Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $120,000
2nd $36,000
3rd $18,000
4th $9,000
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $4,000
8th $4,000

Rubiton Stakes Race Number

The Rubiton Stakes is race number 6 on the 8th of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Rubiton Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Rubiton Stakes has been released.

Rubiton Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Rubiton Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Rubiton Stakes Winners

Winners of the Rubiton Stakes for the past twenty years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going back to 1989, please check our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Nature Strip Chris Waller Damian Lane 57.5kg 1:03.18
2018 Super Cash Andrew Noblet Craig Williams 56.5kg 1:04.54
2017 Super Cash Andrew Noblet Katelyn Mallyon 54kg 1:02.57
2016 Heatherly Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Katelyn Mallyon 51kg 1:02.21
2015 Chautauqua Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 57.5kg 1:02.39
2014 Lankan Rupee Mick Price Craig Newitt 57kg 1:02.50
2013 Adebisi Desleigh Forster Craig Williams 57kg 1:03.38
2012 Eagle Falls David Hayes Dwayne Dunn 58.5kg 1:03.88
2011 Catapulted Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 58kg 1:02.23
2010 Here De Angels Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd 56.5kg 1:01.73
2009 Mind Your Head John Ledger Mark Pegus 58.5kg 1:03.44
2008 Here De Angels Lee Freedman Corey Brown 58.5kg 1:03.68
2007 Dance The Waves Gillian Heinrich Brad Stewart 58.5kg 1:02.96
2006 Bomber Bill Maureen Harry Vlad Duric 57.5kg 0:56.66
2005 Super Elegant Tony Vasil Kelvin Sanderson 57.5kg 1:03.46
2004 Super Elegant Tony Vasil Patrick Payne 57.5kg 1:02.33
2003 Super Elegant Tony Vasil Vincent Hall 57.5kg 1:02.96
2002 Intelligent Star Mick Price Stephen Baster 57.5kg 1:01.86
2001 Cullen


Graeme Rogerson

John Hawkes

Patrick Payne

Darren Beadman



2000 Miss Pennymoney Jim Conlan Brett Prebble 51.5kg 1:02.47