Oakleigh Plate

Oakleigh Plate, Caulfield Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Oakleigh Plate? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,100 metres in late February, the Oakleigh Plate attracts some of the fiercest horses nationwide. With a half a million dollar prize purse, it’s one of the most lucrative short distance races during the Autumn Racing Carnival.

This race is paired with the Newmarket Handicap in most bettors books, forming the Oakleigh Plate-Newmarket Handicap Double.

For most of it’s over-a-hundred-years history, this race has been run at 110 metres. There have been exceptions, such as in 1996, when it was run at 1150 metres.

Oakleigh Plate 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 22nd, 2020
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,100 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Handicap
  • Qualification: Open (maidens ineligible)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 1
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $500,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1884

Oakleigh Plate Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Oakleigh Plate, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Oakleigh Plate
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Oakleigh Plate.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Oakleigh Plate. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Oakleigh Plate, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Oakleigh Plate, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Oakleigh Plate to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Oakleigh Plate to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Oakleigh Plate to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Oakleigh Plate, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Oakleigh Plate

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Oakleigh Plate Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Oakleigh Plate 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2018 edition of the Oakleigh Plate here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 11/12/2020, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Oakleigh Plate

The best way to pick who will win the Oakleigh Plate is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Underweight Advantage – The statistics are in, and they say over the history of this race, runners placed under 55.5 kgs are more likely to win.
  • Sprinting Specialists – It’s a short distance race, so expect to see a field mainly made up of lighting fast runners.
  • Non-Acceptances – Horses which don’t make weight might make way for last minute entrants to the field. If you’re betting closer to raceday, it might be handy to have a few back up bets in mind.

Oakleigh Plate Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Oakleigh Plate 2020 Field

The field limit is 18. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Oakleigh Plate 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Oakleigh Plate Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 22nd of February, 2020.

Oakleigh Plate Barrier Draw

The 2020 Oakleigh Plate barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Oakleigh Plate Nominations

Nominations close at 12:00 PM on Monday, the 17th of February, 2020.

Oakleigh Plate Weights

A handicap applies to this race. The minimum weight for three year olds is 50 kg, while the minimum for four year olds and up is 52 kg. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Monday, the 17th of February, 2020.

Oakleigh Plate Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Oakleigh Plate Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Oakleigh Plate Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 22nd of February, 2020.

Oakleigh Plate Prize Money

The Oakleigh Plate prize purse is worth $500,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $300,000
2nd $90,000
3rd $45,000
4th $22,500
5th $12,500
6th $10,000
7th $10,000
8th $10,000

Oakleigh Plate Race Number

The Oakleigh Plate is race number 5 on the 22ndd of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Oakleigh Plate Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Oakleigh Plate has been released.

Oakleigh Plate Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Oakleigh Plate live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Oakleigh Plate Winners

Winners of the Oakleigh Plate for the past twenty years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going back to 1884, please check our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Booker Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Dean Yendall 52kg 1:01.94
2018 Russian Revolution Peter & Paul Snowden Mark Zahra 56.5kg 1:03.00
2017 Sheidel David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Joao Moreira 53kg 1:02.11
2016 Flamberge Peter Moody Damian Lane 58kg 1:02.52
2015 Shamal Wind Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 54kg 1:02.28
2014 Lankan Rupee Mick Price Craig Newitt 56kg 1:02.72
2013 Mrs Onassis Gerald Ryan Kerrin McEvoy 52.5kg 1:03.16
2012 Woorim Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 55.5kg 1:03.49
2011 Eagle Falls David Hayes Damien Oliver 57kg 1:02.28
2010 Starspangledbanner Leon Corstens Danny Nikolic 52kg 1:03.16
2009 Swiss Ace Mick Mair Ken Pope 54kg 1:02.89
2008 Weekend Hussler Ross McDonald Brad Rawiller 53kg 1:03.22
2007 Undue Shane Clarke Steven Arnold 57kg 1:02.74
2006 Snitzel Gerald Ryan Craig Newitt 51.5kg 1:04.46
2005 Fastnet Rock Paul Perry Glen Boss 57kg 1:02.58
2004 Reactive Brian Mayfield-Smith Matt Pumpa 52kg 1:03.40
2003 River Dove Mathew Ellerton Stephen Baster 51.5kg 1:04.58
2002 Sudurka Brian Mayfield-Smith Nash Rawiller 55.5kg 1:02.58
2001 Miss Kournikova Mathew Ellerton Brett Prebble 52kg 1:02.08
2000 Sports John Hawkes Danny Nikolic 55kg 1:04.56