Vain Stakes

Vain Stakes, Caulfield

Looking for early info on this year’s Vain Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,100 metres, the Vain Stakes is a Group 3 race taking place at Caulfield Racecourse. With a $160,000 prize purse, it attracts its fair share of local, national and international sprinters.

Other races on the same program at Caulfield on this date include the PB Lawrence Stakes, the Quezette Stakes and the Regal Roller Stakes.

Horses that do well in this race may go on to challenge in the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

This race gets its name from former champion racehorse Vain. From the races inaugural race until 2012, this race was run as Principal race. Ever since then, it has been run as a Group 3 race.

The venue for this race has alternated between being held at Sandown Park Racecourse and Caulfield Racecourse quite a few times. Likewise, the distance of the race has changed many times. At different points of time, it has been run as either 1,200 or 1,100 metres.

Vain Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, August 17th, 2019
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,100 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Three year olds (colts and geldings)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1992

Vain Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Vain Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Vain Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Vain Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Vain Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Vain Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Vain Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Vain Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Vain Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Vain Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Vain Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Vain Stakes

  1. Join up at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Vain Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Vain Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Vain Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 02/07/2019, prior to acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Vain Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Vain Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Fresh Start – A lot of horses use this race to mark their return before Spring. Look for horses that had a strong season before they were spelled.
  • Local Youngsters – Look for a horse that did a good campaign as a two year old, preferably on Melbourne soil.
  • Favourites – Top position has been dominated by favourites and single figure runners in recent years past.

Vain Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Vain Stakes 2019 Field

Once nominations are released. we will display the 16 most likely runners to make the field below.

Vain Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBA

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Vain Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 17th of August, 2019.

Vain Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Vain Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Vain Stakes Nominations

Nominations close by 12:00 PM on Monday, the 12th of August, 2019.

Vain Stakes Weights

Set weight plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 12th of August, 2019.

Vain Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 14th of August, 2019.

Vain Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1 PM on Wednesday, the 14th of August, 2019.

Vain Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 17th of August, 2019.

Vain Stakes Prize Money

The Vain Stakes prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $96,000
2nd $28,800
3rd $14,400
4th $7,200
5th $4,000
6th $3,200
7th $3,200
8th $3,200

Vain Stakes Race Number

The Vain Stakes is race number 1 on the 17th of August, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Vain Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Vain Stakes has been released.

Vain Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Vain Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Vain Stakes Winners

Winners of the Vain Stakes for the past twenty years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going further back in history, please visit our winners page for this race.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Tony Nicconi David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Luke Nolen 55 kgs 1:04.85
2017 Jukebox Ciaron Maher Craig Williams 56.5 kgs 1:04.87
2016 Russian Revolution Peter & Paul Snowden Mark Zahra 55 kgs 1:05.14
2015 Gold Symphony Peter Moody Glen Boss 55 kgs 1:04.42
2014 Get The Nod Lloyd Kennewell Joe Bowditch 55 kgs 1:03.88
2013 Safeguard Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 56.5 kgs 1:04.87
2012 Psychic Mick Clarken Chris Symons 55 kgs 1:06.13
2011 Sepoy Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 58.5 kgs 1:03.99
2010 Toorak Toff Rick Hore-Lacy Damien Oliver 57.5 kgs 1:07.12
2009 Starspangledbanner Leon Corstens Danny Nikolic 56.5 kgs 1:04.10
2008 Fernandina Leon Corstens Vlad Duric 55 kgs 1:05.14
2007 Shrewd Rhythm Greg Eurell Chris Symons 57.5 kgs 1:03.40
2006 Haradasun Tony Vasil Nash Rawiller 54 kgs 1:03.51
2005 Red Dazzler Mick Price Danny Nikolic 56 kgs 1:13.73
2004 Zankel Brian Mayfield-Smith Steven King 54 kgs 1:12.69
2003 Lisboa Stand Rick Hore-Lacy Greg Childs 55 kgs 1:10.38
2002 Delago Brom Tommy Hughes (Snr) Steven Arnold 55 kgs 1:10.10
2001 North Boy Tony McEvoy Damien Oliver 57 kgs 1:12.88
2000 Surtees Jan Bowman Bruce MacDonald 54 kgs 1:12.95
1999 Dandy Kid Robbie Griffiths Rikki Cartwright 56 kgs 1:13.80