The Vanity

The Vanity, Flemington Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s The Vanity? The tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,400 metres each February, The Vanity is a longstanding Group 3 race. Restricted to fillies, with a $150,000 prize purse, it attracts its fair share of Trans Tasman talent.

For its first twelve years, it had been held as a Listed race. Since the year 2000, it has proudly held Group 3 status.

The Vanity 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 16th, 2019
  • Track Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Three year olds (fillies only)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Victoria Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $150,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1987

The Vanity Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the The Vanity, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s The Vanity
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s The Vanity.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s The Vanity. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the The Vanity, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the The Vanity, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the The Vanity to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the The Vanity to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the The Vanity to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the The Vanity, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The The Vanity

  1. Join up at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on The Vanity Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

The Vanity 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2018 edition of the The Vanity here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 8/1/2018, prior to nominations or acceptances).


All In Win Odds Place Odds

The Vanity 2018 Results

2018’s results are displayed in the table below:

Place No. Barrier Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Weight Spread
1 5 4 Rimraam David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 55 kgs $7.50
2 2 3 Bring Me Roses Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 0.2 lengths 57.5 kgs $9
3 8 7 Shokora David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Kerrin McEvoy 0.3 lengths 55 kgs $7.50
4 7 6 Paris Rock Henry Dwyer Damien Thornton 1.05 lengths 55 kgs $4.80
5 1 11 Aloisia Aaron Purcell Mark Zahra 2.05 lengths 58.5 kgs $4.40
6 11 5 Shagra David Brideoake Dwayne Dunn 2.25 lengths 55 kgs $41
7 9 10 Caribbean Pearl Mark Young Ben Thompson 2.45 lengths 55 kgs $91
8 4 2 Twitchy Frank Darren Weir Ben Allen 2.65 lengths 55 kgs $12
9 3 1 Banish James Cummings Craig Williams 2.75 lengths 57.5 kgs $12
10 6 9 Anchor Bid Darren Weir Regan Bayliss 4.75 lengths 55 kgs $41
11 10 8 Neurotic Heath Conners Beau Mertens 4.85 lengths 55 kgs $8


Which Horse Will Win The The Vanity

The best way to pick who will win the The Vanity is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • First Run At Flemington – A lot of the fillies won’t have run at Flemington before, or else they haven’t run there for a long time, pay attention to recent races at left-handed tracks such as Caulfield.
  • Overcome The Barrier – Drawing the widest barrier can be tough, but sometimes the best horse in the field is the one that gets it. Adjust accordingly, based on their ability to outpace the disadvantage.

The Vanity Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

The Vanity 2019 Field

The field limit is 16. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer

The Vanity 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

The Vanity Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 16th of February, 2019.

The Vanity Barrier Draw

The 2018 The Vanity barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

The Vanity Nominations

Nominations close at 12 PM on Monday, the 11th of February, 2019.

The Vanity Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Monday, the 11th of February, 2019.

The Vanity Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 13th of February, 2019.

The Vanity Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1 PM on Wednesday, the 13th of February, 2019.

The Vanity Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 16th of February, 2019.

The Vanity Prize Money

The The Vanity prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth. There is a SUPER VOBIS Nominators bonus of $10,000 for eligible placegetters.

Place Prize Money
1st $96,000
2nd $28,800
3rd $14,400
4th $7,200
5th $4,000
6th $3,200
7th $3,200
8th $3,200

The Vanity Race Number

The The Vanity is race number 3 on the 16th of February, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Flemington Racecourse.

The Vanity Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s The Vanity has been released.

The Vanity Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 The Vanity live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

The Vanity Winners

Winners of the The Vanity for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Rimraam David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 55 kgs 1:22.04
2017 Kenedna Darren Weir Damian Lane 55 kgs 1:23.38
2016 Don’t Doubt Mamma Tony McEvoy Dwayne Dunn 57.5 kgs 1:22.73
2015 Sweet And Speedy Peter Moody Craig Newitt 54 kgs 1:24.13
2014 Solicit Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 54 kgs 1:22.43
2013 Alzora David Hayes Nicholas Hall 55.5 kgs 1:22.59
2012 Shopaholic Danny O’Brien Dwayne Dunn 54 kgs 1:22.71
2011 Southern Speed Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 54 kgs 1:24.17
2010 Tallow Anthony Cummings Corey Brown 54 kgs 1:23.52
2009 Romneya Lee Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 54 kgs 1:22.94
2008 Musidora David Hayes Vlad Duric 54 kgs 1:22.44
2007 Universal Queen Lee Freedman Corey Brown 55.5 kgs 1:09.98
2006 Pure Joy John Hawkes Danny Nikolic 54 kgs 1:21.52
2005 Ballet Society Pat Hyland Blake Shinn 54 kgs 1:24.18
2004 Country Lodge Mathew Ellerton Stephen Baster 54 kgs 1:22.01
2003 Dextrous John Hawkes Darren Gauci 56.5 kgs 1:22.30
2002 Gold Lottey Graeme Rogerson Darren Beadman 54 kgs 1:23.28
2001 Lan Kwai Fong Peter Hayes Kerrin McEvoy 54 kgs 1:22.07
2000 Forest Express Gary Portelli Shane Dye 54 kgs 1:21.96