Herbert Power Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Herbert Power Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Herbert Power Stakes, Caulfield

Run over 2,400 metres, the Herbert Power Stakes is a Group 2 race taking place at Caulfield Racecourse. With a $400,000 prize purse, it attracts its fair share of short to staying distance runners from all over the world.

This race has been known by various names, including: the Eclipse Stakes, the Herbert Power Handicap, the Quick-Eze Stakes, the Perrier Mineral Water Stakes and the Winning Edge Presentations Stakes.

Horses that do well in this race may end up on the form for the Lexus Stakes, some even go on to join the field of the Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup.

Herbert Power Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, October 12th, 2019
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over (maidens excluded)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Prize Purse: $400,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1898

Herbert Power Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Herbert Power Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Herbert Power Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Herbert Power Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Herbert Power Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Herbert Power Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Herbert Power Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Herbert Power Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Herbert Power Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Herbert Power Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Herbert Power Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Herbert Power Stakes

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Herbert Power Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Herbert Power Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Herbert Power Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 26/09/2019, prior to acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Herbert Power Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Herbert Power Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Distance Experience – This race is definitely for the stayers. See if you can find one coming off a strong performance in something like the Turnbull Stakes or the JRA Cup.
  • Single Figure Hopes – Horses offering double digit odds haven’t done too well in this race, so you might want to try and back a horse offering a single figure pay off.
  • Handicap Helper – Look for a horse carrying light weight, if they have just come off a win or a place in their last race, the handicap could be an advantage.

Herbert Power Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2 and TBA #3.

Herbert Power Stakes 2019 Field

Once nominations are released. we will display the 16 most likely runners to make the field below.

Herbert Power Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBA.

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Herbert Power Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 12th of October, 2019.

Herbert Power Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Herbert Power Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Herbert Power Stakes Nominations

Nominations close by 12:00 PM on Monday, the 23rd of September, 2019.

Herbert Power Stakes Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 7th of October, 2019.

Herbert Power Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 9th of October, 2019.

Herbert Power Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 9th of
October, 2019.

Herbert Power Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 12th of October, 2019.

Herbert Power Stakes Prize Money

The Herbert Power Stakes prize purse is worth $400,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $240,000
2nd $72,000
3rd $36,000
4th $18,000
5th $10,000
6th $8,000
7th $8,000
8th $8,000

Herbert Power Stakes Race Number

The Herbert Power Stakes is race number 9 on Sunday, the 12th of October, 2019. There are ten races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Herbert Power Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Herbert Power Stakes has been released.

Herbert Power Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Herbert Power Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Herbert Power Stakes Winners

Winners of the Herbert Power Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. You can find a full history of winners on our winners page for this race.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Yucatan Aidan O’Brien James McDonald 56 kgs 2:26.47
2017 Lord Fandango Archie Alexander Ben Allen 53 kgs 2:27.67
2016 Assign Robert Hickmott Katelyn Mallyon 53 kgs 2:29.15
2015 Amralah Robert Hickmott Hugh Bowman 58.5 kgs 2:27.77
2014 Big Memory Tony McEvoy Tommy Berry 53 kgs 2:26.68
2013 Sea Moon Robert Hickmott Hugh Bowman 59.5 kgs 2:29.98
2012 Shahwardi Alain de Royer Dupre Kerrin McEvoy 56 kgs 2:28.82
2011 Shewan Robert Smerdon Chris Symons 54.5 kgs 2:30.75
2010 Linton Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 54.5 kgs 2:29.43
2009 Alcopop Jake Stephens Dom Tourneur 54 kgs 2:27.23
2008 Dolphin Jo Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Clare Lindop 56 kgs 2:30.20
2007 Master O’reilly Danny O’Brien Vlad Duric 53.5 kgs 2:30.00
2006 Growl David Hayes Craig Williams 54.5 kgs 2:29.39
2005 Leica Falcon Richard Freyer Craig Williams 52 kgs 2:29.56
2004 Rizon Cliff Brown Corey Brown 52 kgs 2:31.70
2003 Yakama Bevan Laming Damien Oliver 53.5 kgs 2:30.71
2002 The Secondmortgage Michael Moroney Kerrin McEvoy 54 kgs 2:29.89
2001 Freemason John Hawkes Darren Gauci 56.5 kgs 2:30.76
2000 Majestic Avenue Tony Noonan Glen Boss 53.5 kgs 2:31.42
1999 Rogan Josh Bart Cummings Darren Gauci 53 kgs 2:27.63