Gimcrack Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Gimcrack Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Gimcrack Stakes, Ascot Racecourse

Run over 1,100 metres in March, the Gimcrack Stakes attracts a field of two year old fillies from around Australia.

Starting out as a Principal Race, this race was upgraded to Listed Race status in 1979. Since 2015, it has been held as a Group 3 race.

Gimcrack Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, March 21st, 2020
  • Track Location: Ascot Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,100 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Two year olds (fillies)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Perth Racing
  • Prize Purse: $150,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1978

Gimcrack Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Gimcrack Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Gimcrack Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Gimcrack Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Gimcrack Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Gimcrack Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Gimcrack Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Gimcrack Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Gimcrack Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Gimcrack Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Gimcrack Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Gimcrack Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Gimcrack Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Gimcrack Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Gimcrack Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 18/12/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Gimcrack Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Gimcrack Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Young Guns – With a field made up entirely of two year old fillies, a lot of the runners are as yet unproven. Look out for a filly that has recently won or gotten a place in a black-type event.
  • Handicap Helper – This race rune with set weights plus penalties, which means some horses will be carrying an extra load. Do your homework to figure out which horses can handle the weight, and which ones are getting relief by carrying less.

Gimcrack Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Gimcrack Stakes 2020 Field

Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Gimcrack Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Gimcrack Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 21st of March, 2020.

Gimcrack Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Gimcrack Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Gimcrack Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12:30 PM on Tuesday, the 17th of March, 2020.

Gimcrack Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 7:00 PM on Tuesday, the 17th of March, 2020.

Gimcrack Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 18th of March, 2020.

Gimcrack Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 3:00 PM on Wednesday, the 18th of March, 2020.

Gimcrack Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 11:00 AM on Saturday, the 21st of March, 2020.

Gimcrack Stakes Prize Money

The Gimcrack Stakes prize purse is worth $150,000 in total, distributed from places first through tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $88,500
2nd $30,000
3rd $13,500
4th $6,000
5th $3,000
6th $1,500
7th $1,500
8th $1,500
9th $1,500
10th $1,500

Gimcrack Stakes Race Number

The Gimcrack Stakes is race number 2 on the 21st of March, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Gimcrack Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Gimcrack Stakes has been released.

Gimcrack Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Gimcrack Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Gimcrack Stakes Winners

Winners of the Gimcrack Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. 

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Rio Del Mar Simon A Miller Chris Parnham 54 kgs 1:05.16
2018 Agent Pippa Daniel & Ben Pearce Joseph Azzopardi 55.5 kgs 1:05.96
2017 Kiss Bang Love Russell Stewart William Pike 54 kgs 1:05.15
2016 Whispering Brook Simon A Miller Peter Knuckey 56.5 kgs 1:04.64
2015 Chantski Dion Luciani Jerry Noske 55.5 kgs 1:06.06
2014 Fuld’s Bet Simon A Miller Peter Knuckey 54 kgs 1:05.71
2013 Camporella Daniel Morton Jarrad Noske 56.5 kgs 1:05.86
2012 Darlington Abbey Simon A Miller Paul Harvey 56.5 kgs 1:04.17
2011 Flying Affair Lindsey Smith Ben Kennedy 54 kgs 1:05.72
2010 Miss Condition Jim Taylor Jason Brown 57 kgs 1:05.19
2009 For Your Eyes Only Paul Jordan Troy Turner 54.5 kgs 1:03.73
2008 Danerip Fred Kersley William Pike 56 kgs 1:05.35
2007 Jestatune Fred Kersley William Pike 58 kgs 1:04.34
2006 Paris Petard Fred Kersley Shaun McGruddy 58.5 kgs 1:05.36
2005 Sportivo Jim Taylor Jason Brown 52 kgs 1:11.75
2004 Refemme George Daly Peter Knuckey 55.5 kgs 1:05.93
2003 Diamond Dash David Edwards John Claite 54 kgs 1:05.57
2002 Amphritite Fred Castledine D Miller (Jnr) 52 kgs 1:06.78
2001 Magic Heaven Neville Parnham Jason Brown 55 kgs 1:04.75
2000 Ebony Magic Lou Luciani Paul Harvey 55 kgs 1:05.23