Toorak Handicap

The Toorak Handicap is a Group 1 race run at Caulfield, open to all (except maidens), and is one of the most closely watched mile races during the Spring Carnival.

This race makes a nice lead in to the Emirates Stakes (Cantala Stakes), which is also a mile race, taking place at Flemington during the famous Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Offering $500,000 in prize money, the Toorak Handicap takes place in October as part of the bumper Caulfield Guineas Day card.

Horses out of the Toorak Handicap may also continue onto the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) back at the track a fortnight later with five to complete the double, but not since Leilani (1974).

Toorak Handicap 2020 – Fast Facts

  • Race Day: Saturday, October 10th, 2020 
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,600 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Handicap
  • Qualification: Maidens excluded
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 1
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $500,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1881

Toorak Handicap 2020 Betting

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Toorak Handicap
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s The Toorak Handicap.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s The Toorak Handicap. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in The Toorak Handicap, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within The Toorak Handicap, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within The Toorak Handicap to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within The Toorak Handicap to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within The Toorak Handicap to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from The Toorak Handicap, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Toorak Handicap In 2020

Login at

    • Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
    • Make sure to check out the form guide, once it’s released
    • Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options
    • Select the horse(s) for the race.

2020 Toorak Handicap Field (Horses)

The official Toorak Handicap 2020 field is released the Wednesday of race week and will be published in full below.

Toorak Handicap 2020 Odds

Early market odds for Toorak Handicap will be displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds,  you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of The Toorak Handicap here once betting opens.

Toorak Handicap 2020 Tips

  • Favourite: TBA.
  • Best Bet: TBA.
  • Best Roughie: TBA.

Check back here the week of the race for our insider 2020 Toorak Handicap betting tips and selections.

Toorak Handicap Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 10th of October, 2020 as part of a huge Caulfield Guineas Day card that features 10 races including four Group 1 events. 

Other key events held on Caulfield Guineas Day include the:

  • Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m)
  • Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m)
  • Group 1 Caulfield Stakes (2000m)
  • Group 2 Schillaci Stakes (1100m)
  • Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m)
  • Group 3 Thoroughbred Club Stakes (1200m)
  • Group 3 Northwood Plume Stakes (1200m)

Toorak Handicap 2020 Nominations

Closing time for nominations is 12 PM on Monday the 5th of October, 2020.

Toorak Handicap 2020 Weights

The race is run under handicap conditions. Final weights will be declared on Monday, the 5th of October, 2020. The official Toorak Handicap 2020 weights on the final field will be published in our above Toorak Handicap Field section. 

Toorak Handicap 2020 Acceptances

Acceptances will be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 7th of October, 2020. The official 2020 Toorak Handicap acceptances will be published in our above Toorak Handicap Field section. 

Toorak Handicap 2020 Riders

Riders must be announced by 1 PM on Wednesday, the 7th of October, 2020. The official 2020 Toorak Handicap jockeys will be published in our above Toorak Handicap Field section. 

Toorak Handicap Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM, Saturday, 10th October, 2020.

Toorak Handicap Race Number

The Toorak Handicap is likely to run as Race 9 on Saturday October 10, 2020 at Caulfield Racecourse. There are ten races in total that day at Caulfield.

Toorak Handicap 2020 Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Toorak Handicap has been released.

Toorak Handicap Winners (Past Results)

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2019 Fierce Impact Craig Williams Matthew Smith 1:35.19
2018 Land Of Plenty Damian Lane Darren Weir 1:34.52
2017 Tosen Stardom Damian Lane Darren Weir 1:35.8
2016 He’s Our Rokkii Dwayne Dunn David and B Hayes and T Dabernig 1:36.1
2015 Lucky Hussler Glen Boss Darren Weir 1:34.5
2014 Trust In A Gust Brad Rawiller Darren Weir 1:35.2
2013 Solzhenitsyn Nash Rawiller Robert Heathcote 1:36.4
2012 Solzhenitsyn Corey Brown Robert Heathcote 1:35.2
2011 King Mufhasa Michael Rodd Stephen McKee 1:36.2
2010 More Joyous Nash Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 1:36.4
2009 Allez Wonder Michelle Payne Bart Cummings 1:35.0
2008 Alamosa Craig Newitt Mick Price 1:36.9
2007 Divine Madonna M Rodd Mark Kavanagh 1.37.3
2006 Red Dazzler J A Cassidy Mick Price 1.37.5
2005 Barely A Moment Craig Williams Tony McEvoy 1.37.9
2004 Regal Roller M Flaherty Clinton McDonald 1.37.4
2003 Roman Arch L Currie Robbie Laing 1.36.0
2002 Shot of Thunder G Boss John O’Shea 1.36.1
2001 Show of Heart G Boss B N Miller 1.35.8
2000 Umrum J A Cassidy L M Macdonald 1.36.4
1999 Umrum E A Wilkinson L M Macdonald
1998 Marble Halls J A Cassidy D L Freedman
1997 Penghulu G J Childs H E Parnham
1996 Poetic King S D Marshall D L Freedman
1995 Sober Suit B Prebble J W Edwards
1994 Oppressor D Taggart G Mance
1993 Golden Sword S R King J Denham
1992 Ready To Explode S R King John Meagher
1991 Comrade J A Cassidy DR G Chapman
1990 Ricochet Rosie Mick Dittman G H Walter
1989 Cole Diesel M Kerr G Mance
1988 Planet Ruler B York D A Hayes
1987 Caledonian Boy P Hyland J J Moloney
1986 Canny Lass J Marshall Rick Hore-Lacy
1985 King Phoenix M Goreham T R Howe
1984 Mr. Ironclad P Jarman B J McLachlan
1983 Showmeran G Doughty K Neman Jr.