Sandown Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Sandown Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Sandown Stakes, Sandown Racecourse

Run over 1,500 metres, the Sandown Stakes is a Group 3 race taking place at Sandown Racecourse. With a $160,000 prize purse, it attracts a mixture of domestic and international runners.

Starting out as a Listed Race, this race was upgraded to Group 3 status in 1984.

Sandown Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, November 16th, 2019
  • Track Location: Sandown Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,500 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Qualirty handicap
  • Qualification: Open (maidens ineligible)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1981

Sandown Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Sandown Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Sandown Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Sandown Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Sandown Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Sandown Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Sandown Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Sandown Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Sandown Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Sandown Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Sandown Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Sandown Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Sandown Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Sandown Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Sandown Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 14/11/2019).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Sandown Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Sandown Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Season End – Look for mid distance runners that have recently done well in the Spring and are looking for a final race to finish off their season.
  • Lead Ups – If you’re looking to follow some races to get a taste of what’s to come, you should consider the Underwood Stakes, the Kennedy Cantala and the Chatham Stakes.

Sandown Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include Widgee Turf, William Thomas and Gold Fields.

Sandown Stakes 2019 Field

  • East Indiaman
  • Gold Fields
  • Manolo Blahniq
  • Mr Exclusive
  • Music Bay
  • Odeon
  • Pounamu
  • Rich Itch
  • Spunlago
  • Strome
  • Travimyfriend
  • Vassilator
  • Widgee Turf
  • William Thomas

Sandown Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: Widgee Turf.

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Sandown Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 16th of November, 2019.

Sandown Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Sandown Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Sandown Stakes Nominations

No. Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Handicap
1 122139×312 East Indiaman Gelding 4 Tony & Calvin McEvoy 81
2 5×64542131 Gold Fields Gelding 7 Logan McGill 97
3 72240×9245 Manolo Blahniq Gelding 6 Tony Noonan 95
4 242229×293 Mr Exclusive Gelding 4 Matthew Brown 74
5 x22141x337 Music Bay Mare 4 Phillip Stokes 92
6 53x554424x Odeon Gelding 6 Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra 96
7 2x332x70x0 Pounamu Gelding 8 Michael Kent 102
8 x211283147 Rich Itch Gelding 4 Shawn Mathrick 95
9 1772316×77 Spunlago Gelding 8 Ron Stubbs 90
10 56x1213x94 Strome Mare 5 Gary Portelli 82
11 2023127629 Travimyfriend Gelding 7 Rachael Frost 90
12 x90x744367 Vassilator Gelding 4 Colin Little 90
13 21017×5392 Widgee Turf Gelding 6 Patrick Payne 104
14 x4153x1343 William Thomas Gelding 5 John Price 91

Sandown Stakes Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 11th of November, 2019.

Sandown Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 13th of November, 2019.

Sandown Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 13th of
November, 2019.

Sandown Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 16th of November, 2019.

Sandown Stakes Prize Money

The Sandown Stakes prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $96,000
2nd $28,800
3rd $14,400
4th $7,200
5th $4,000
6th $3,200
7th $3,200
8th $3,200

Sandown Stakes Race Number

The Sandown Stakes is race number 4 on Saturday, the 16th of November, 2019. There are ten races in total that day at Sandown Racecourse.

Sandown Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Sandown Stakes has been released.

Sandown Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Sandown Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Sandown Stakes Winners

Winners of the Sandown Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. For a full list of winners, please visit our winners page for this race.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Fifty Stars Darren Weir Ben Allen 54kg 1:31.08
2017 Dollar For Dollar Tony McEvoy Jamie Kah 54kg 1:29.94
2016 Redkirk Warrior David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 54kg 1:30.66
2015 Charmed Harmony John Sadler Glen Boss 58kg 1:29.48
2014 Pornichet Gai Waterhouse James McDonald 54.5kg 1:29.61
2013 Mahisara Paul Messara Craig Williams 56kg 1:23.55
2012 Mahisara Paul Messara Craig Williams 55kg 1:29.20
2011 Under The Eiffel Tony Vasil Craig Williams 54kg 1:32.47
2010 Larry’s Never Late Jim Conlan Mark Zahra 56kg 1:33.21
2009 Nine Tales Mick Price Craig Newitt 53.5kg 1:30.60
2008 Chasm Heath Conners Jason Benbow 55kg 1:31.80
2007 Gotta Have Heart Mick Price Stephen Baster 53kg 1:24.19
2006 Swick Bart Cummings Luke Nolen 53kg 1:22.00
2005 Titanic Jack Tom Hughes Nick Ryan 55kg 1:31.53
2004 Amtrak Mick Price Glen Boss 56.5kg 1:27.80
2003 Chong Tong Lee Freedman Brett Prebble 55.5kg 1:23.57
2002 Salgado John Hawkes Darren Gauci 54.5kg 1:22.71
2001 Little Dozer Shane Fliedner Brett Prebble 54kg 1:23.21
2000 Normal Practice Danny Williams Glen Boss 56kg 1:21.41
1999 Buster Jones Lee Freedman Damien Oliver 55.5kg 1:21.90