Apollo Stakes

Apollo Stakes, Randwick Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Apollo Stakes? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,400 metres in mid February, the Apollo Stakes is a Group 2 race, held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. With a quarter million dollar prize purse, it’s the highlight of the race meet held that day at Randwick.

This race serves a nice little lead in to the 1600 metre Chipping Norton Stakes, which takes place a fortnight later.

For almost all of the races history, it has been held at the Group 2 level. The only exceptions being the first three years it was run, between 1977 and 1979.

Apollo Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 15th, 2020
  • Track Location: Randwick Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Three year old and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Australian Turf  Club
  • Prize Purse: $250,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1977

Apollo Stakes Betting

New Ways to Bet at neds

There are many different ways to bet on the Apollo Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Apollo Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Apollo Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Apollo Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Apollo Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Apollo Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Apollo Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Apollo Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Apollo Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Apollo Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Apollo Stakes

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Apollo Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Apollo Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Apollo Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 12/12/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Apollo Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Apollo Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Medium Mild – Being on the shorter side, but not quite a sprint, look for horses which possess a balance of speed and endurance.
  • Summer Sleepers – Some horses who came off a very successful Spring campaign, will be waking from their Summer spell for this one.
  • Gender Divide – Since the year 2000, it’s gone pretty much either way when it comes to males or females winning this race.

Apollo Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Apollo Stakes 2020 Field

The field limit is 16. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Apollo Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Apollo Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 15th of February, 2020.

Apollo Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Apollo Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Apollo Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11:00 AM on Monday, the 10th of February, 2020.

Apollo Stakes Weights

Standard weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Tuesday, the 11th of February, 2020.

Apollo Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 12th of February, 2020.

Apollo Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 12th of February, 2020.

Apollo Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 15th of February, 2020.

Apollo Stakes Prize Money

The Apollo Stakes prize purse is worth $250,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $140,250
2nd $46,800
3rd $22,700
4th $11,125
5th $6,125
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Apollo Stakes Race Number

The Apollo Stakes is race number 1 on the 15th of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Randwick Racecourse.

Apollo Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Apollo Stakes has been released.

Apollo Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Apollo Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Apollo Stakes Winners

Winners of the Apollo Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going back to 1884, please check our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Winx Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 57kg 1:20.88
2018 Endless Drama Chris Waller Tye Angland 59kg 1:22.46
2017 Winx Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 57kg 1:22.57
2016 Winx Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 57kg 1:22.03
2015 Contributer John O’Shea James McDonald 59kg 1:22.09
2014 Appearance Guy Walter Blake Shinn 57kg 1:21.97
2013 Alma’s Fury Paul Murray Blake Shinn 59kg 1:27.32
2012 Rain Affair Joseph Pride Corey Brown 59kg 1:22.34
2011 Melito Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 57kg 1:22.28
2010 Danleigh Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 59kg 1:22.91
2009 Tuesday Joy Gai Waterhouse Blake Shinn 57kg 1:25.78
2008 Racing To Win John O’Shea Hugh Bowman 59kg 1:24.33
2007 Desert War Gai Waterhouse Hugh Bowman 59kg 1:22.23
2006 Ike’s Dream John Hawkes Darren Beadman 55.5kg 1:22.15
2005 Grand Armee Gai Waterhouse Danny Beasley 58kg 1:21.06
2004 Private Steer John O’Shea Larry Cassidy 55.5kg 1:23.54
2003 Lonhro John Hawkes Darren Beadman 58kg 1:22.49
2002 Ha Ha Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 52kg 1:23.10
2001 Sunline Trevor McKee Greg Childs 55.5kg 1:25.45
2000 Sunline Trevor McKee Greg Childs 55.5kg 1:27.69