Flight Stakes Betting

Part of the Epsom Handicap racecard, this event is exclusively for three year old fillies bearing set weights, making it a good value bet for any seasoned punters who have been watching the up and coming fillies and can factor in which horses will get an advantage from the weight system.


A good race to pay attention to before the Flight Stakes is the Tea Rose Takes, which takes place earlier in September. Also for 3 year old fillies and with set weights, but 200 metres shorter in distance, winning or placing in the Tea Rose Stakes has come to be known as a strong indicator of Flight Stakes success.

Flight Stakes 2018 – Fast Facts

  • Race Day: Saturday, September 29th, 2018
  • Race Starts: 2:40PM
  • Track Location: Randwick Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Distance: 1600m
  • Weight Class: Set weights
  • Qualification: Three year olds (only fillies)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 1
  • Operator: Australian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $500,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1947

Flight Stakes 2018 Betting

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Flight Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Flight Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Flight Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Flight Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Flight Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Flight Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Flight Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Flight Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Flight Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Flight Stakes

Join up at neds.com.au to get your first bet matched up to $100

  1. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  2. Make sure to check out the form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Flight Stakes 2018 Horses (Field)

The early market has opened and the twelve most likely runners on the day appear below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer
MISS FABULASS 3 Filly $29,890 Kris Lees
OOHOOD 3 Filly $996,100 Tony McEvoy
PURE ELATION 3 Filly $555,870 Peter & Paul Snowden
SEABROOK 3 Filly $556,300 Mick Price
EL DORADO DREAMING 3 Filly $753,755 Benjamin Smith
SUNLIGHT 3 Filly $2,182,450 Tony McEvoy
FIESTA 3 Filly $318,750 Chris Waller
FUTOOH 3 Filly $191,950 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
SISTER SLEDGE 3 Filly $33,450 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
GRANNY RED SHOES 3 Filly $184,515 Toby Edmonds
ARISTOCRATIC MISS 3 Filly $136,640 Tony McEvoy
EAWASE 3 Filly $109,006 Peter & Paul Snowden

Flight Stakes 2018 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds,  you can check our live market for the 2018 Flight Stakes here. (Please note that these odds are from 17/08/2018, prior to final acceptances).

Horse Odds To Win Odds To Place
OOHOOD 7.00 2.50
PURE ELATION 7.50 2.50
SEABROOK 11.00 3.30
SUNLIGHT 15.00 4.50
FIESTA 16.00 4.50
FUTOOH 18.00 5.00
SISTER SLEDGE 18.00 5.00
EAWASE 21.00 5.75
ENNIS HILL 21.00 5.75
GONGS 26.00 6.50
KARA’S HOPE 26.00 6.50
KHULAASA 26.00 6.50
QAFILA 26.00 6.50
SATIN SLIPPER 26.00 6.50
SECRET LADY 26.00 6.50
SETSUNA 26.00 6.50
ADAMINA 51.00 12.00
CASADIVA 51.00 12.00
CRISTOBAL 51.00 12.00
NOW OR NEVER 51.00 12.00
PERFECT PITCH 51.00 12.00
SWEET AVA 51.00 12.00

Flight Stakes 2018 Tips

Favourite: Miss Fabulass. Having taken 1st place in the 1100m race meet at Canterbury on 15/08/2018, she will be a clear favourite for this race if accepted.

Best Roughie: El Dorado Dreaming. Winning the Champagne Stakes this year, this filly has proved an upset in a Group 1 race already this year, where she was far from the favourite at the jump.

Check in with Jared Timms and our expert tipsters for the latest info right here during the week of the Flight Stakes.

Flight Stakes 2018 Announcements

Nominations Close: 11 AM, Monday the 24th of September, 2018
Weights Declared: 4:00 PM, Tuesday, 25th September 2018
Acceptances Cut Off: 9:00 AM, Wednesday, 26th September 2018
Last Scratchings 7:30 AM, Saturday, 29th September 2018

Flight Stakes 2018 Nominations

Nominations close 11 AM, Monday the 24th of September, 2018.

Flight Stakes 2018 Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2018’s Flight Stakes has been released.

Flight Stakes Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Weight
2017 Alizee Glyn Schofield James Cummings 56
2016 Global Glamour T. Clark Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott 56
2015 Speak Fondly T. Berry Gai Waterhouse 56
2014 First Seal B. Shinn John P Thompson 56
2013 Guelph K. McEvoy PETER SNOWDEN 56
2012 Norzita (NZ) H. Bowman Bart Cummings 56
2011 Streama H. Bowman G H WALTER 56
2010 Secret Admirer B. Avdulla Grahame Begg 56
2009 More Joyous (NZ) N. Rawiller Gai Waterhouse 56
2008 Samantha Miss H. Bowman Kris Lees 56
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Cheeky Choice H. Bowman Gai Waterhouse 56
2005 Fashions Afield D. Beasley Gai Waterhouse 56
2004 Lotteria J. Cassidy Gai Waterhouse 56
2003 Unearthly C. Brown D A HAYES 56
2002 Royal Purler P. Payne Gregory Hickman 56
2001 Ha Ha J. Cassidy Gai Waterhouse 54
2000 Unworldly L. Cassidy J R HAWKES 54
1999 Danglissa C. Munce Gai Waterhouse 54
1998 Sunline (NZ) L. Cassidy T J MCKEE 54
1997 Only A Lady G. Cooksley Clarry Conners 54
1996 *Assertive Lass / Dashing Eagle R.S. Dye / D. Beadman Bart Cummings 54
1995 Pontal Lass G. Boss Gai Waterhouse 54
1994 Danarani K. Moses Clarry Conners 54
1993 Angst C. Carmody Bart Cummings 54
1992 Slight Chance (NZ) G. Cooksley R H THOMSEN 54
1991 Electrique D. Beadman F W MITCHELL 54
1990 Triscay L. Dittman J DENHAM 54
1989 A Little Kiss (NZ) R.S. Dye T J SMITH 54
1988 Research L. Dittman Clarry Conners 54
1987 Judyann K. Moses N C BEGG 54
1986 Bounding Away L. Dittman T J SMITH 54
1985 Tingo Tango S. Scriven D R BOUGOURE 54
1984 Goleen M. Schumacher I W HOCKING 54
1983 La Caissiere R. Quinton N C BEGG 54
1982 Gelsomino (NZ) M. de Montfort 54
1981 Allez Show G. Allendorf 54
1980 Fiancee R. Quinton 54
1979 Snowing J. Duggan 54
1978 Jubilee Walk P. Cook 54
1977 Sun Sally J. Duggan 54
1976 Apollua J. Duggan 54
1975 Gloomy Isle L. Olsen 54
1974 Cap D’Antibes P. Cook 54
1973 Better Comment K. Moses 54
1972 Siduri K. Langby 54
1971 Better Gleam G. Moore 8 7
1970 Tropic Jewel D. Lake 8 7
1969 Natal Lass G. Moore 8 7
1968 Flying Fable G. Moore 8 7
1967 Flying Gauntlet M. Schumacher 8 7
1966 Candy Floss G. Moore 8 7
1965 Fawnia R. Selkrig 8 7
1964 Reveille G. Moore 8 7