Zeditave Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Zeditave Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Zeditave Stakes, Caulfield Racecourse

Run over 1,200 metres in February, the Zeditave Stakes attracts a variety of 3 year old male sprinters from around Australia.

Starting out as a Listed Race, this race was upgraded to Group 3 in 2014.

If a horse performs in the Zeditave Stakes, they may be placed in the field of the 1200 metre Arrowfield Sprint, taking place at Randwick in April.

Zeditave Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 22nd, 2020
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,200 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Three year olds (colts and geldings)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1989

Zeditave Stakes Betting

New Ways to Bet at neds

There are many different ways to bet on the Zeditave Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Zeditave Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Zeditave Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Zeditave Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Zeditave Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Zeditave Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Zeditave Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Zeditave Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Zeditave Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Zeditave Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Zeditave Stakes

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Zeditave Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Zeditave Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Zeditave Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 12/12/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Zeditave Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Zeditave Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Lack Of Lead Ups – There are not really any black-type races in the lead up to this race which focus on three year old colts and geldings, so you’ll need to train your sights to lower classed races. 
  • Weight Watchers – Because this race is using the set weights with penalties system, wise punters should pay attention to which horses gain weight relief, and which are carrying more than their usual load.

Zeditave Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Zeditave Stakes 2020 Field

Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Zeditave Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Zeditave Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 22nd of February, 2020.

Zeditave Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Zeditave Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Zeditave Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12:00 PM on Monday, the 17th of February, 2020.

Zeditave Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Monday, the 17th of February, 2020.

Zeditave Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Zeditave Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Zeditave Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 22nd of February, 2020.

Zeditave Stakes Prize Money

The prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $96,000
2nd $28,800
3rd $14,400
4th $7,200
5th $4,000
6th $3,200
7th $3,200
8th $3,200

Zeditave Stakes Race Number

The Zeditave Stakes is race number 2 on the 22nd of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Zeditave Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Zeditave Stakes has been released.

Zeditave Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 race live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Zeditave Stakes Winners

Winners for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. 

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Terbium Phillip Stokes John Allen 55 kgs 1:09.97
2018 Overshare Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 57 kgs 1:09.16
2017 Benz Gordon Richards Blake Shinn 55 kgs 1:08.71
2016 Santa Ana Lane Anthony Freedman Ben Melham 55 kgs 1:09.53
2015 Rommel Neville Parnham Chris Parnham 57.5 kgs 1:10.36
2014 Not Listenin’tome Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James McDonald 55 kgs 1:09.26
2013 Happy Galaxy Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 56 kgs 1:10.69
2012 Instinction Mick Price Craig Newitt 57.5 kgs 1:09.37
2011 Eclair Mystic Robert Smerdon Chris Symons 55.5 kgs 1:10.69
2010 Denman Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 57.5 kgs 1:08.66
2009 Time Thief Lee Freedman Dwayne Dunn 54 kgs 1:10.03
2008 Bundle O’ Gold Paul Seater Dwayne Dunn 55 kgs 1:09.66
2007 Haradasun Tony Vasil Nash Rawiller 56 kgs 1:09.50
2006 Minson Michael Hibbs Craig Williams 56 kgs 1:10.86
2005 Not A Single Doubt Tony Vasil Kerrin McEvoy 57.5 kgs 1:10.00
2004 St Elmo’s Fire Brian Mayfield-Smith Danny Nikolic 57.5 kgs 1:10.00
2003 Innovation Girl Brian Mayfield-Smith Nash Rawiller 55.5 kgs 1:08.35
2002 Barkada Lee Freedman Patrick Payne 56.5 kgs 1:08.24
2001 Desert Eagle Mathew Ellerton Patrick Payne 56.5 kgs 1:08.84
2000 Pins Clarry Conners Shane Dye 58 kgs 1:09.12