Widden Stakes

Widden Stakes, Rosehill Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Widden Stakes? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run in late January, the Widden Stakes serves as a great launchpad for baby fillies. Having been a listed race for a long time, the race has only held onto Group 3 status for a handful of years so far.

Lead in races to follow include the 1100 m Gimcrack Stakes in October,

If a horse does well in the Widden Stakes, you might see them entered into the field for the $3.5 million Golden Slipper, which takes places in March. The race also serves as a good lead in to the Silver Slipper Stakes, as well as the Sweet Embrace Stakes.

Widden Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 1st, 2020
  • Track Location: Rosehill Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,100 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Two year olds (fillies only)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Australian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1943

Widden Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Widden Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Widden Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Widden Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Widden Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Widden Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Widden Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Widden Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Widden Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Widden Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Widden Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Widden Stakes

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Widden Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Widden Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Widden Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 04/12/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Widden Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Widden Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Look Back To Spring – With the extremely low age restriction, a lot of runners will be in their first season. Look back to last year’s Spring Carnival to see if any fillies aged out and had a good run in the year prior.
  • Baby Breakout – Since this is a first major race for lot of young fillies, look for any which have gained a place or a fast time in black type races during the weeks prior to this event.

Widden Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Widden Stakes 2020 Field

The field limit is 14. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Widden Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Widden Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020.

Widden Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Widden Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Widden Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11:00 AM on Monday, the 27th of January, 2020.

Widden Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Tuesday, the 28th of January, 2020. Base weight is 54.5 kgs. If the winner is carrying an additional 1.5kgs, they earn an additional $40,000. If the winner is carrying an additional 3 kgs, they will earn an additional $60,000.

Widden Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 29th of January, 2020.

Widden Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 29th of January, 2019.

Widden Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020.

Widden Stakes Prize Money

The Widden Stakes prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth. There are bonuses based on weight carried by the winner.

Place Prize Money
1st $83,000
2nd $29,400
3rd $14,200
4th $7,200
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Widden Stakes Race Number

The Widden Stakes is race number 2 on the 1st of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Widden Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Widden Stakes has been released.

Widden Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Widden Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Widden Stakes Winners

Winners of the Widden Stakes for the past eighteen years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see every result going back to 1943, visit our winners page for this race.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Amercement James Cummings Brenton Avdulla 54.5kg 1:05.91
2017 Fiesta Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 54.5kg 1:05.50
2016 Teaspoon Michael Freedman Hugh Bowman 56kg 1:05.08
2015 Honesty Prevails Rick Worthington Jason Collett 54.5kg 1:05.73
2014 Fireworks Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 54.5kg 1:05.49
2013 Mossfun Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 54kg 1:05.06
2012 Overreach Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 54kg 1:04.21
2011 Driefontein Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 56.5kg 1:04.14
2010 Satin Shoes Clarry Conners Hugh Bowman 54kg 1:03.06
2009 Georgette Silk Clarry Conners Blake Shinn 54kg 1:05.19
2008 Horizons Gai Waterhouse Blake Shinn 54kg 1:04.44
2007 Delta Girl Graeme Rogerson Jeff Lloyd 54kg 0:58.67
2006 Superfly David Hayes Tim Clark 54.5kg 1:04.80
2005 Churchill Downs David Hayes Larry Cassidy 56kg 1:04.85
2004 Pasikatera Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 54kg 1:04.02
2003 Econsul Graeme Rogerson Chris Munce 56kg 1:05.15
2002 Secret Land Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 55.5kg 0:58.92
2001 Riona John Hawkes Larry Cassidy 53kg 0:58.05
2000 Miss Bussell Gai Waterhouse Brian York 53kg 0:59.33
1999 Miss Thunderstood Les Kelly Brian York 53kg 0:59.4
1998 Teaspoon Michael Freedman Hugh Bowman 56kg 1:05.08