Villiers Stakes

Villiers Stakes, Randwick Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Villiers Stakes? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Raced annually since 1892, the Villiers Stakes is always a memorable moment during the Australian Turf Club’s summer campaign. This race has held Group 2 for over 30 years.

If a horse does well in the Villiers Stakes, their owner may consider nominating them for the 2000 metre Summer Cup.

Winning the race results in a ballot exemption for the Doncaster Mile, another 1600 metre race, which means you can usually find the winner amongst the field in the following year.

The race has almost entirely been known as a mile long race, with a few exceptions. In January 0f 2008 it was run at a reduced 1400 metres as a once off. It’s first decade (1982-1901) it was actually a 1200 metre race.

Villiers Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, December 14th, 2019
  • Track Location: Randwick Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,600 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality Handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Australian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $250,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1892

Villiers Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Villiers Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Villiers Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Villiers Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Villiers Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Villiers Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Villiers Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Villiers Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Villiers Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Villiers Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Villiers Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Villiers Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Villiers Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Villiers Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Villiers Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 27/11/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Villiers Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Villiers Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Local Milers – There are plenty of races worth paying attention in the preceding weeks, set at 1600 metres and taking place at Randwick.
  • Summer Shiners – Some horses might be coming out of their freshening period after the Spring season. Others may have been held back during Spring, because their best shot is at the Summer races.

Villiers Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Villiers Stakes 2018 Field

The field limit is 20. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer

Villiers Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Villiers Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 14th of December, 2019.

Villiers Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Villiers Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Villiers Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11 AM on Monday, the 9th of December, 2019.

Villiers Stakes Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Tuesday, the 10th of December, 2019.

Villiers Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 11th of December, 2019.

Villiers Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 11th of December, 2019.

Villiers Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 14th of December, 2019.

Villiers Stakes Prize Money

The Villiers Stakes prize purse is worth $250,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $140,250
2nd $46,800
3rd $22,700
4th $11,125
5th $6,125
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Villiers Stakes Race Number

The Villiers Stakes is race number 1 on the 14th of December, 2018. There are nine races in total that day at Randwick Racecourse.

Villiers Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Villiers Stakes has been released.

Villiers Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2018 Villiers Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Streaming: 7Live

Villiers Stakes Winners

Winners of the Villiers Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. For every result going back to 1930, please check our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Sky Boy Anthony Cummings Christian Reith 53kg 1:36.39
2017 Crack Me Up Liam Birchley Jason Collett 54.5kg 1:34.98
2016 Sense Of Occasion Kris Lees Ben Melham 54kg 1:37.40
2015 Happy Clapper Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 53kg 1:33.98
2014 Rudy Helen Page Luke Tarrant 53kg 1:36.27
2013 Ninth Legion Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Peter Robl 54.5kg 1:31.41
2012 All Legal Kevin Moses Glyn Schofield 54kg 1:35.81
2011 Monton Ron Quinton Hugh Bowman 58kg 1:36.33
2010 Dances On Waves Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 52kg 1:35.03
2009 Palacio De Cristal Grahame Begg Peter Wells 52kg 1:34.72
2008 Something Anything Gary Portelli Chris Munce 54.5kg 1:36.39
2007 Honor In War Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 54.5kg 1:21.54
2006 Utzon Les Bridge Lenny Beasley 57.5kg 1:35.26
2005 Aqua D’amore Gai Waterhouse Danny Beasley 52.5kg 1:35.47
2004 Ike’s Dream John Hawkes Darren Beadman 54kg 1:33.13
2003 On A High John O’Shea Larry Cassidy 53kg 1:35.86
2002 Boreale John Hawkes Darren Beadman 53kg 1:34.89
2001 Carael Boy Bob Milligan Brad Pengelly 53.5kg 1:36.54
2000 Grey And Gold John O’Shea Darryl McLellan 52.5kg 1:36.19
1999 Final Fantasy Bruce Cross Craig Carmody 52kg 1:35.45