Vamos Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Vamos Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Vamos Stakes, Launceston Racecourse

Run over 1,400 metres in February, the Vamos Stakes attracts a variety of female gallopers from Tasmania and some other parts of Australia.

Starting out as a Listed Race, this race was upgraded to Group 3 in 2014.

If a horse performs in the Vamos Stakes, they may be placed in the field of the 1,200 metre Robert Sangster Stakes, taking place in Adelaide later in the year.

Vamos Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Wednesday, February 26th, 2020
  • Track Location: Launceston Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Three year olds and older (fillies and mares)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Tasmanian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $150,000
  • Inaugural Race: 2007

Vamos Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Vamos Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Vamos Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Vamos Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Vamos Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Vamos Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Vamos Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Vamos Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Vamos Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Vamos Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Vamos Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Vamos Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Vamos Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Vamos Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Vamos Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 13/12/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Vamos Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Vamos Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Best Lead Up – To get a forecast of this race, tune in to the Bow Mistress Stakes, taking place in Hobart a fortnight earlier.
  • Interstate Invasion – Expect to see some expertly trained Victorian horses travelling down to the Apple Isle for this race.

Vamos Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Vamos Stakes 2020 Field

Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Vamos Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Vamos Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Wednesday, the 26th of February, 2020.

Vamos Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Vamos Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Vamos Stakes Weights

Weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Thursday, the 20th of February, 2020.

Vamos Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Friday, the 21st of February, 2020.

Vamos Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Friday, the 21st of February, 2020.

Vamos Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Wednesday, the 26th of February, 2020.

Vamos Stakes Prize Money

This races prize purse is worth $150,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $90,000
2nd $27,000
3rd $13,500
4th $6,750
5th $3,750
6th $3,000
7th $3,000
8th $3,000

Vamos Stakes Race Number

The Vamos Stakes is race number 9 on the 26th of February, 2020. There are ten races in total that day at Launceston Racecourse.

Vamos Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Vamos Stakes has been released.

Vamos Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Vamos Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Vamos Stakes Winners

Winners of this race for the past thirteen years are displayed in the table below. 

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Twitchy Frank Adam Trinder Anthony Darmanin 57 kgs 1:25.06
2018 Life On The Wire Scott Brunton Craig Newitt 57 kgs 1:23.77
2017 Kiss Me Ketut Matthew Brown Boris Thornton 57 kgs 1:22.89
2016 I Love It John Salanitri Stephen Baster 57 kgs 1:22.67
2015 Vibrant Rouge Glenn Thornton Damien Thornton 57 kgs 1:23.57
2014 Rebel Bride Leon Wells Anthony Darmanin 57 kgs 1:24.42
2013 Beautiful Buns Adam Trinder Clare Lindop 57 kgs 1:23.37
2012 Lady Lynette David Brunton Michael Guthrie 57 kgs 1:25.54
2011 Lady Lynette Scott Brunton Michael Guthrie 57 kgs 1:24.79
2010 I’m A Hussy Scott Brunton Ben Melham 57 kgs 1:24.31
2009 Lady Lynette David Brunton Michael Guthrie 57 kgs 1:23.00
2008 Blazonry John Hogan Rhys McLeod 56.5 kgs 1:24.53
2007 Lekitama David Brunton Brendon McCoull 56.5 kgs 1:25.05