Summer Cup

Looking for early info on this year’s Summer Cup? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Summer Cup, Randwick Racecourse
With over a century worth of history, the Summer Cup is an inseparable part of the Australian Turf Club’s post Spring campaign. This race has held Group 3 status since 1979.

The 1600 metre Villiers Stakes is unquestionably the best lead-in race to this one. If a horse does well in the Summer Cup, their owner may consider sending them over to the West Coast for the Perth Cup.

Despite never changing name, the race distance has changed quite a few times. It has gradually downgraded from 2600 metres, to 2400 metres, down to its current distance of 2000 metres.

Summer Cup 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Thursday, December 26th, 2019
  • Track Location: Randwick Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 2,000 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality Handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Perth Racing
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1892

Summer Cup Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Summer Cup, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Summer Cup
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Summer Cup.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Summer Cup. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Summer Cup, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Summer Cup, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Summer Cup to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Summer Cup to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Summer Cup to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Summer Cup, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Summer Cup

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Summer Cup Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Summer Cup 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Summer Cup here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 19/10/2018, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Summer Cup

The best way to pick who will win the Summer Cup is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Stayers – There isn’t a lot of local talent that does well at distance of 2000 metres or more. Keep an eye out on horses with staying distance history.
  • Post Spring Blues – A lot of horses might be getting a mini spell after their hard efforts during the Spring season. Look for an opening, where some of the heavy hitters have neglected to nominate.

Summer Cup Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Summer Cup 2019 Field

The field limit is 14. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Summer Cup 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Summer Cup Race Day

Race day takes place on Thursday, the 26th of December, 2019.

Summer Cup Barrier Draw

The 2019 Summer Cup barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Summer Cup Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Friday, the 20th of December, 2019.

Summer Cup Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9 AM on Monday, the 23rd of December, 2019.

Summer Cup Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12 PM on Monday, the 23rd of December, 2019.

Summer Cup Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Thursday, the 26th of December, 2019.

Summer Cup Prize Money

The Summer Cup prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $83,000
2nd $29,400
3rd $14,200
4th $7,200
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Summer Cup Race Number

The Summer Cup is race number 1 on the 26th of December, 2019. There are eight races in total that day at Randwick Racecourse.

Summer Cup Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2018’s Summer Cup has been released.

Summer Cup Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Summer Cup live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Streaming: 7Live

Summer Cup Winners

Winners of the Summer Cup for the past eighteen years are displayed in the table below. For every result going back to 1930, please check our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Distance
2018 Fierce Impact Matthew Smith Corey Brown 54kg 2000 m
2017 Montauk Chris Waller Mathew Cahill 53kg 2000 m
2016 Red Excitement Gerald Ryan Adam Hyeronimus 57kg 2000 m
2015 Mighty Lucky Fred Cowell Kathy O’Hara 56kg 2000 m
2014 I’m Imposing Chris Waller Tye Angland 59kg 2000 m
2013 I’m Imposing Chris Waller Blake Shinn 55kg 2000 m
2012 Le Roi Tony McEvoy Glyn Schofield 58kg 2400 m
2011 Yulalona Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 53kg 2400 m
2010 Spechenka Ben Ahrens Rod Quinn 53kg 2400 m
2009 Solid Billing Craig Ritchie Jim Cassidy 53kg 2400 m
2008 Ready To Lift Gerald Ryan Glyn Schofield 54kg 2400 m
2007 Race Not Run N/A N/A N/A N/A
2006 Jamberoo Bede Murray Grant Buckley 52kg 2400 m
2005 Aqua D’amore Gai Waterhouse Danny Beasley 57kg 2400 m
2004 This Manshood Tim Martin Justin Sheehan 57.5kg 2400 m
2003 Stadium Graeme Rogerson Christian Reith 53kg 2400 m
2002 Stoway Gai Waterhouse Danny Beasley 57.5kg 2400 m
2001 Majestically Jack Denham Darren Beadman 54.5kg 2400 m
2000 Lanolin Allan Denham Michael Squires 54.5kg 2400 m
1999 Zanetta Gai Waterhouse Danny Beasley 52.5kg 2400 m
2017 Montauk Chris Waller Mathew Cahill 53kg 2000 m