Shannon Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Shannon Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Shannon Stakes, Rosehill

Run over 1,500 metres, the Shannon Stakes is a Group 3 race taking place at Rosehill Racecourse. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts lots of mid distance runners, mainly from New South Wales.

This race has been run over several distances. For its first 12 years it was run at 1500 metres. In 1991, it was run at 1550 metres, before returning to 1500 metres for the next 8 years. In 2001, it was run at 1400 metres, followed by its current length of 1500, which it has stayed at since 2002.

Starting out as a Principal Race, it then progressed to Group 3 status in 1985, followed by Group 2 in 2001.

The horse that wins this race is exempt from the ballot in the Epsom Handicap.

Shannon Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, September 28th, 2019
  • Track Location: Rosehill Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,500 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1978

Shannon Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Shannon Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Shannon Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Shannon Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Shannon Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Shannon Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Shannon Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Shannon Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Shannon Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Shannon Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Shannon Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Shannon Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Shannon Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Shannon Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Shannon Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 20/09/2019, prior to acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Shannon Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Shannon Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Local Runners – Look for NSW bred horses that have done well at distances of 1400 metres and up.
  • Best Lead Up – The Theo Marks Stakes is your best chance of a preview.

Shannon Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Shannon Stakes 2019 Field

Once nominations are released. we will display the 16 most likely runners to make the field below.

Shannon Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBA

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Shannon Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 28th of September, 2019.

Shannon Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Shannon Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Shannon Stakes Nominations

Nominations close by 11:00 AM on Monday, the 23rd of September, 2019.

Shannon Stakes Weights

A handicap applies to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Tuesday, the 24th of September, 2019.

Shannon Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 25th of September, 2019.

Shannon Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 25th of
September, 2019.

Shannon Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 28th of September, 2019.

Shannon Stakes Prize Money

The Shannon Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $109,350
2nd $36,750
3rd $17,750
4th $8,900
5th $5,250
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Shannon Stakes Race Number

The Shannon Stakes is race number 3 on Saturday, the 28th of September, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Rosehill Racecourse.

Shannon Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Shannon Stakes has been released.

Shannon Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Shannon Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Shannon Stakes Winners

Winners of the Shannon Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. To see the full list of winners, please check out our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Noire Chris Waller Tommy Berry 53.5 kgs 1:29.62
2017 Washington Heights Gerald Ryan Kerrin McEvoy 55 kgs 1:28.80
2016 Moral Victory Tim Martin Jason Collett 53 kgs 1:28.06
2015 Vashka John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 53 kgs 1:29.25
2014 Rock Sturdy Joseph Pride Corey Brown 56 kgs 1:28.80
2013 Rain Drum Gai Waterhouse Peter Robl 53.5 kgs 1:29.30
2012 Rolling Pin Gwenda Markwell Corey Brown 57 kgs 1:31.18
2011 King Lionheart Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 52 kgs 1:28.56
2010 Firebolt Roger James Daniel Ganderton 52 kgs 1:28.54
2009 Drumbeats Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 52 kgs 1:30.13
2008 Musket Peter Snowden Corey Brown 52.5 kgs 1:30.56
2007 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2006 Stormhill Tim Martin Jim Cassidy 54.5 kgs 1:28.43
2005 Lotteria Gai Waterhouse Lenny Beasley 56.5 kgs 1:30.21
2004 Nips Clarry Conners James Innes 52 kgs 1:28.27
2003 Sportsman Gregory Hickman Zac Purton 55.5 kgs 1:28.09
2002 Gordo John Hawkes Corey Brown 56 kgs 1:29.70
2001 On Type Gai Waterhouse Lenny Beasley 53 kgs 1:22.42
2000 Al Mansour John Size Lenny Beasley 55.5 kgs 1:29.50