Missile Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Missile Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,200 metres, the Missile Stakes is a Group 2 race taking place at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts its share of local sprinters.

Other races held on the same day at Rosehill include the The Rosebud.

A number of turf stars have won the Missile Stakes over the years including Lonhro (2002), Pierata (2018) and Alizee (2019).

Missile Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, August 8th, 2020
  • Track Location: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,200 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Australian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1978

Missile Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Missile Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Missile Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Missile Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Missile Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Missile Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Missile Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Missile Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Missile Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Missile Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Missile Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Missile Stakes

  1. Join up at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Missile Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Missile Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds for the 2020 Missile Stakes will be displayed below as soon as betting on the Group 2 sprint opens. If you would like to know the latest Missile Stakes odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Missile Stakes here. 

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Missile Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Missile Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Local Experience – Horses that race well at Randwick and Rosehill should have the advantage.
  • Autumn Lead up – If there are any horses that did well in the Randwick Guineas who have entered the field, they are worth taking a closer look at.

Missile Stakes Favourites

Alizee ($1.30 in 2019) was the last favourite in Missile Stakes betting to salute for the punters.

Early favourites for the 2020 Missile Stakes race will be listed here closer to the race. 

Missile Stakes 2020 Field

The official Missile Stakes 2020 field of final acceptances and barrier draw are announced by Racing NSW on the Wednesday of race week following on from the nominations that close on the Monday.

Missile Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBA

Best Bet: TBA

Best Roughie: TBA

Our insider Missile Stakes 2020 tips and exotic selections will be listed here the week of the event.

Missile Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 8th of August 2020.

The Listed The Rosebud (1100m) for Golden Rose-bound youngsters is the other feature Black-Type race on Missile Stakes Day.

Missile Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Missile Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race and announced right here. 

Missile Stakes Nominations

Nominations close by 11:00 AM on Monday, the 3rd of August, 2020.

Missile Stakes Weights

Standard weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Tuesday, the 4th of August, 2020.

Missile Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 5th of August, 2020.

Missile Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 5th of August, 2020.

Missile Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 8th of August, 2020.

Missile Stakes Prize Money

The Missile Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $109,350
2nd $36,750
3rd $17,750
4th $8,900
5th $5,250
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Missile Stakes Race Number

The Missile Stakes traditionally runs as race number 4 on the program. There are nine races in total that day at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Missile Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Missile Stakes has been released.

Missile Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Missile Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Missile Stakes Winners

Winners of the Missile Stakes for the past twenty years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going back through the full history of the race, check out our winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Alizee James Cummings Hugh Bowman 56.5 kgs 1:11.25
2018 Pierata Gregory Hickman James McDonald 58.5 kgs 1:08.41
2017 Invincible Gem Kris Lees Corey Brown 56.5 kgs 1:11.82
2016 Tycoon Tara Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 56.5 kgs 1:15.64
2015 Burbero Bjorn Baker Rory Hutchings 58.5 kgs 1:09.13
2014 Sweet Idea Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 56.5 kgs 1:09.44
2013 Rain Affair Joseph Pride Nash Rawiller 58.5 kgs 1:10.83
2012 Pinwheel Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 58.5 kgs 1:09.74
2011 Rain Affair Joseph Pride Corey Brown 58.5 kgs 1:10.71
2010 Love Conquers All Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Jim Cassidy 58.5 kgs 1:12.48
2009 Teasing Tim Martin Chris Munce 56.5 kgs 1:04.42
2008 Captain Bax Kris Lees Tim Clark 58.5 kgs 1:05.44
2007 German Chocolate Paul Cave Zac Purton 58.5 kgs 1:04.61
2006 Imprisoned John O’Shea Michael Rodd 57.5 kgs 1:06.27
2005 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2004 Dance Hero Gai Waterhouse Lenny Beasley 57 kgs 1:02.80
2003 Spark Of Life Allan Denham Chris Munce 57 kgs 1:02.82
2002 Lonhro John Hawkes Darren Beadman 57.5 kgs 1:03.53
2001 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2000 Sportsbrat Gary Portelli Hugh Bowman 57.5 kgs 1:06.69
1999 Padstow John Size Lenny Beasley 57.5 kgs 1:03.76