Futurity Stakes

Futurity Stakes, Caulfield Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Futurity Stakes? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,400 metres in late February, the Futurity Stakes is a Group 1 race, held at Caulfield Racecourse. With a half million dollar prize purse, it’s a big race for Melbourne during that time of year.

Without a doubt, the best race to use as a lead in is the CF Orr Stakes. Taking place a fortnight earlier, it is run at the same track, at the very same distance.

For almost all of the races history, it has been run at 1400 metres, though there have been many exceptions to this rule. One recent example is from 2006 to 2010, when it was run at 1,600 metres.

Futurity Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 22nd, 2020
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over (excluding maidens)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 1
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $500,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1897

Futurity Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Futurity Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Futurity Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Futurity Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Futurity Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Futurity Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Futurity Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Futurity Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Futurity Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Futurity Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Futurity Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Futurity Stakes

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Futurity Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Futurity Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Futurity Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 16/12/2018, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Futurity Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Futurity Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • CF Orr Stakes – Anyone who has placed in this race, taking place a fortnight earlier, is usually worth backing.
  • Barrier Draw – Getting a start from barriers 4-6 can prove mighty handy in a race like this one.
  • Local Legends – It’s generally advisable to stay away from horses which haven’t had their last start in a Melbourne race.

Futurity Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Futurity Stakes 2020 Field

The field limit is 16. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Futurity Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Futurity Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 22nd of February, 2020.

Futurity Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Futurity Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Futurity Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12:00 PM on Monday, the 17th of February, 2020.

Futurity Stakes Weights

Standard weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Monday, the 17th of February, 2020.

Futurity Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Futurity Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 19th of February, 2020.

Futurity Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 22nd of February, 2020.

Futurity Stakes Prize Money

The Futurity Stakes prize purse is worth $500,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $300,00
2nd $90,000
3rd $18,000
4th $9,000
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $4,000
8th $4,000

Futurity Stakes Race Number

The Futurity Stakes is race number 6 on the 22nd of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Futurity Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Futurity Stakes has been released.

Futurity Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Futurity Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Futurity Stakes Winners

Winners of the Futurity Stakes for the past twenty years are displayed in the table below.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Alizee James Cummings Hugh Bowman 57kg 1:22.48
2018 Brave Smash Darren Weir Craig Williams 59kg 1:23.16
2017 Black Heart Bart Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 59kg 1:22.96
2016 Turn Me Loose Murray Baker Opie Bosson 59kg 1:22.21
2015 Suavito Nigel Blackiston Damien Oliver 57kg 1:23.05
2014 Moment Of Change Peter Moody Luke Nolen 59kg 1:23.44
2013 All Too Hard Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 55.5kg 1:23.03
2012 King Mufhasa Stephen McKee Nash Rawiller 59kg 1:23.82
2011 More Joyous Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 57kg 1:21.79
2010 Typhoon Tracy Peter Moody Luke Nolen 57kg 1:34.43
2009 Niconero David Hayes Craig Williams 59kg 1:36.40
2008 Niconero David Hayes Craig Williams 59kg 1:34.77
2007 Aqua D’amore Gai Waterhouse Stephen Baster 56.5kg 1:35.71
2006 Fields Of Omagh David Hayes Steven King 58kg 1:34.28
2005 Regal Roller Clinton McDonald Mark Flaherty 58kg 1:24.67
2004 Reset Graeme Rogerson Danny Nikolic 54.5kg 1:23.79
2003 Yell John Hawkes Darren Gauci 55kg 1:21.90
2002 Dash For Cash Rick Hore-Lacy Kerrin McEvoy 55kg 1:23.02
2001 Mr. Murphy

desert Sky

Lee Freedman

Mathew Ellerton

Damien Oliver

Darren Gauci



2000 Testa Rossa Dean Lawson Damien Oliver 55kg 1:23.73