Chairman’s Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Chairman’s Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Chairmans Stakes, Caulfield Racecourse

Run over 1,000 metres in early February, the Chairman’s Stakes attracts a variety of young horses from Australia and the world.

Starting out as a Listed Race, this race was upgraded to Group 3 in 2014. The race has had a chequered history of being held at both Sandown and Caulfield Racecourses.

If a horse does well in the Chairman’s Stakes, they may well go on to enter the Blue Diamond Stakes, taking place three weeks later.

Chairman’s Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February, 1st 2020
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,000 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Two year olds
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1990

Chairman’s Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Chairman’s Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Chairman’s Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Chairman’s Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Chairman’s Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Chairman’s Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Chairman’s Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Chairman’s Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Chairman’s Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Chairman’s Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Chairman’s Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Chairman’s Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Chairman’s Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Chairman’s Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Chairman’s Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 27/11/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Chairman’s Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Chairman’s Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Small Field – This race has been known to draw a small field, which makes betting on place getting easier, but with an obviously lower payoff.
  • Weight Watchers – Some horses will be able to take the extra weight accorded to them by the penalty. Conversely, some horses will be relieved of weight, and may find this assists their run.

Chairman’s Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Chairman’s Stakes 2020 Field

Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners below.

Chairman’s Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Chairman’s Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020.

Chairman’s Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Chairman’s Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Chairman’s Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12 PM on Monday, the 27th of January, 2020.

Chairman’s Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Monday, the 27th of January, 2020.

Chairman’s Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 29th of January, 2020.

Chairman’s Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1:00 PM on Wednesday, the 29th of January, 2020.

Chairman’s Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020.

Chairman’s Stakes Prize Money

The Chairman’s Stakes prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $96,000
2nd $28,800
3rd $14,400
4th $7,200
5th $4,000
6th $3,200
7th $3,200
8th $3,200

Chairman’s Stakes Race Number

The Chairman’s Stakes is race number 1 on the 1st of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Chairman’s Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Chairman’s Stakes has been released.

Chairman’s Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Chairman’s Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Chairman’s Stakes Winners

Winners of the Chairman’s Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. 

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Loving Gaby Ciaron Maher & David Eustace Damian Lane 54 kgs 0:57.69
2018 Ennis Hill David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Stephen Baster 54 kgs 0:57.02
2017 Formality David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 54 kgs 0:58.10
2016 Extreme Choice Mick Price Damien Oliver 58 kgs 0:57.09
2015 Thurlow Robert Smerdon Craig Williams 56 kgs 0:56.43
2014 Nayeli Gai Waterhouse Vlad Duric 54 kgs 1:03.88
2013 Metastasio Peter Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 55 kgs 1:04.37
2012 Mama’s Choice David Hayes Dwayne Dunn 54 kgs 1:04.70
2011 Atomic Lee Freedman Ben Melham 55.5 kgs 0:56.72
2010 Crystal Lily Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Brett Prebble 55 kgs 1:02.67
2009 Headway Peter Moody Luke Nolen 53 kgs 1:04.10
2008 Whisper Bay David Hayes James Winks 54 kgs 0:57.69
2007 Gibraltar Campion Lee Freedman Corey Brown 53 kgs 1:11.37
2006 Ulfah David Hayes Craig Williams 52 kgs 1:09.89
2005 Under The Floor Lee Freedman Damien Oliver 54 kgs 1:10.76
2004 Tirade Mathew Ellerton Glen Boss 54 kgs 1:10.98
2003 Vengeance Of Rain Bradley Marzato Danny Nikolic 54.5 kgs 1:09.78
2002 Yell John Hawkes Darren Gauci 54.5 kgs 1:04.39
2001 Spitz Lee Freedman Peter Mertens 54.5 kgs 1:04.34
2000 Road To Success John Salanitri Danny Nikolic 54.5 kgs 1:05.71