Canonbury Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Canonbury Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Canonbury Stakes, Rosehill Gardens Racecourse

Run over 1,100 metres, the Canonbury Stakes is a Group 3 race taking place at Rosehill Racecourse. With a $160,000 prize purse, it attracts a field of young, unproven horses looking to make a mark.

Starting out as Principal race, this race was made a Listed race in 1979, followed by an upgrade to Group 3 in 2015.

Horses that do well in this race may end up in the field of the Todman Stakes or the Blue Diamond Stakes.

Canonbury Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, February 1st, 2020
  • Track Location: Rosehill Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,100 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (plus penalties)
  • Qualification: Two year olds (colts and geldings)
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Prize Purse: $160,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1930

Canonbury Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Canonbury Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Canonbury Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Canonbury Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Canonbury Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Canonbury Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Canonbury Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Canonbury Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Canonbury Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Canonbury Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Canonbury Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Canonbury Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make a deposit, using your credit card, PayPal or other safe electronic method
  3. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  4. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Canonbury Stakes Betting above).
  5. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Canonbury Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Canonbury Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 22/11/2019).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Canonbury Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Canonbury Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Debutantes – Seeing as this race is for youngsters, a lot of the field is going to be made up of colts and geldings having their first big race. You may be able to find a very select few that have some experience at Sydney meets.
  • Small Field – Due to being only for male two year olds, this race usually draws a small field. This makes place betting easier, though of course with a smaller payoff.

Canonbury Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2 and TBA #3.

Canonbury Stakes 2019 Field

We will display the field once released to the public.

Canonbury Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBA.

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Canonbury Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020.

Canonbury Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Canonbury Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Canonbury Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11:00 AM on Monday, the 27th of January, 2020.

Canonbury Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Tuesday, the 28th of January, 2020.

Canonbury Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 29th of
January, 2020.

Canonbury Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 29th of
January, 2020.

Canonbury Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020.

Canonbury Stakes Prize Money

The Canonbury Stakes prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $83,000
2nd $29,400
3rd $14,200
4th $7,200
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Canonbury Stakes Race Number

The Canonbury Stakes is race number 3 on Saturday, the 1st of February, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Rosehill Racecourse.

Canonbury Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Canonbury Stakes has been released.

Canonbury Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Canonbury Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Canonbury Stakes Winners

Winners of the Canonbury Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Mclaren Peter & Paul Snowden James McDonald 54.5 kgs 1:05.98
2018 Performer Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 57.5 kgs 1:06.21
2017 Pariah Peter & Paul Snowden Kerrin McEvoy 54.5 kgs 1:04.63
2016 Tessera John O’Shea James McDonald 56 kgs 1:06.08
2015 Vancouver Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 57.5 kgs 1:05.85
2014 Fighting Sun Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 54 kgs 1:05.40
2013 Never Can Tell Anthony Cummings Peter Robl 54 kgs 1:05.33
2012 Raceway Gai Waterhouse Hugh Bowman 54 kgs 1:03.93
2011 Diamond To Pegasus Tony Sergi Nathan Berry 54 kgs 1:03.41
2010 Hinchinbrook Gerald Ryan Kerrin McEvoy 54 kgs 1:05.33
2009 Tickets John O’Shea Hugh Bowman 54 kgs 1:04.27
2008 Sebring Gai Waterhouse Blake Shinn 54 kgs 0:58.15
2007 Danehill Smile Anthony Cummings Darren Beadman 54 kgs 1:05.67
2006 Diego Garcia Gai Waterhouse Larry Cassidy 56 kgs 1:04.74
2005 Bradbury’s Luck Graeme Rogerson Chris Munce 56 kgs 1:03.62
2004 Not A Single Doubt Graeme Rogerson Larry Cassidy 58.5 kgs 0:58.03
2003 Hammerbeam John Hawkes Darren Beadman 55.5 kgs 0:59.70
2002 Snowland Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 53 kgs 0:59.09
2001 Excellerator Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 53 kgs 0:57.80
2000 Kootoomootoo Jack Denham Jim Cassidy 53 kgs 0:57.90