Brisbane Cup

Brisbane Cup, Doomben

Looking for early info on this year’s Brisbane Cup? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 2,400 metres, the Brisbane Cup is a Group 2 race taking place at Eagle Farm Racecourse. With an $400,000 prize purse, this winter race attracts a lot of local horses with staying power.

Good lead up races for this one include the Doomben Cup, for fillies, as well as the P.J. O’Shea Stakes taking place at Doomben Racecourse.

Brisbane Cup 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, June 8th, 2019
  • Track Location: Eagle Farm Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Brisbane Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $400,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1866

Brisbane Cup Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Brisbane Cup, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Brisbane Cup
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Brisbane Cup.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Brisbane Cup. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Brisbane Cup, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Brisbane Cup, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Brisbane Cup to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Brisbane Cup to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Brisbane Cup to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Brisbane Cup, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Brisbane Cup

  1. Login at
  2. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Brisbane Cup Betting above).
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Brisbane Cup 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Brisbane Cup here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 23/05/2019, prior to acceptances).


All In Win Odds
Federal Lilly 6
Sennachie 6
Black Opium 8
Fernando Blaster 10
Orson Allen 10
Dam Slippery 12
Pindari Express 12
Bucks Future 14
Dyna Patty 14
Miss Splendamiro 16
Querencia 16
Slingshot Hammer 16
Tauwitchere 16
Deliver 18
Black Forge 26
Fabwik 26
Crimson Vixen 31
Red Rock 51
Regal Recall 51
Notorious Mac 61
Snug 101

Which Horse Will Win The Brisbane Cup

The best way to pick who will win the Brisbane Cup is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Super Stayers – Look for a horse that has been recently getting a top 3 result at distances between 2000 and 2400 metres.
  • Handicap Helper – This is an Quality Handicap race, which means some horses will get an advantage. Study the form and figure it out.
  • Best Lead ups – Keep your eyes on the P.J. O’Shea Stakes and the Doomben Cup.

Brisbane Cup Favourites

Early favourites include Federal Lilly, Sennachie, Black Opium and Fernando Blaster.

Brisbane Cup 2019 Field

We display the 16 most likely runners to make the field in the table below.

  1. Federal Lilly
  2. Sennachie
  3. Black Opium
  4. Fernando Blaster
  5. Orson Allen
  6. Dam Slippery
  7. Pindari Express
  8. Bucks Future
  9. Dyna Patty
  10. Miss Splendamiro
  11. Querencia
  12. Slingshot Hammer
  13. Tauwitchere
  14. Deliver
  15. Black Forge
  16. Fabwik

Brisbane Cup 2019 Tips

Favourite: Federal Lilly.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Brisbane Cup Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 8th of June, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Barrier Draw

The 2019 Brisbane Cup barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Brisbane Cup Nominations

Nominations close at 11:00 AM on Monday, the 3rd of June, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights are announced at 4:00 PM on Tuesday, the 4th of June, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 5th of June, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12 PM on Wednesday, the 5th of June, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 8th of June, 2019.

Brisbane Cup Prize Money

The Brisbane Cup prize purse is worth $400,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $232,000
2nd $74,000
3rd $38,000
4th $20,000
5th $11,000
6th $5,000
7th $5,000
8th $5,000
9th $5,000
10th $5,000

Brisbane Cup Race Number

The Brisbane Cup is race number 5 on the 8th of June, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

Brisbane Cup Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Brisbane Cup has been released.

Brisbane Cup Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Brisbane Cup live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Free-to-air: Seven Network

Brisbane Cup Winners

Winners of the Brisbane Cup for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going further back in history, please visit our winners page for this race.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Sedanzer Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tim Clark 53 kgs 2:18.39
2017 Chocante Stephen Marsh Jim Byrne 53 kgs 2:15.07
2016 Benzini Adrian & Harry Bull Rosie Myers 54.5 kgs 2:31.69
2015 Jetset Lad Brian Smith Paul Hammersley 53 kgs 2:15.06
2014 Floria Peter Moody Kerrin McEvoy 53 kgs 2:25.69
2013 Moriarty Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 58 kgs 2:29.15
2012 Lights Of Heaven Peter Moody Luke Nolen 55.5 kgs 2:29.62
2011 Tullamore Gai Waterhouse Chris Munce 52.5 kgs 2:28.38
2010 Crossthestart Bevan Laming Chris Munce 54 kgs 2:27.52
2009 Scenic Shot Daniel Morton Shane Scriven 60 kgs 2:34.62
2008 Viewed Bart Cummings Damien Oliver 54.5 kgs 2:35.99
2007 Newport Paul Perry Allan Robinson 52 kgs 2:28.18
2006 Art Success John Collins Anthony Pattillo 51 kgs 3:22.45
2005 Portland Singa Neville McBurney Larry Cassidy 52 kgs 3:20.80
2004 Danestorm Jim Conlan Michael Walker 50 kgs 3:20.20
2003 Piachay David Hall Glen Boss 53.5 kgs 3:22.50
2002 Prized Gem Murray Baker Michael Rodd 51 kgs 3:24.60
2001 Star Covet Pam Webber Jason Taylor 49.5 kgs 3:17.40
2000 Yippyio Allan Denham Larry Cassidy 51.5 kgs 3:24.90