Bletchingly Stakes

Bletchingly Stakes, Caulfield

Looking for early info on this year’s Bletchingly Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,200 metres, the Bletchingly Stakes is a Group 3 race taking place at Caulfield Racecourse. With a $160,000 prize purse, it attracts its fair share of local sprinters. For 2020 the Bletchingly Stakes prize money is down to $128,000 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

This race serves as an excellent lead up into the PB Lawrence Stakes and Shoot Out (2010) was the last horse to complete the Bletchingly Stakes – PB Lawrence Stakes double. 

Bletchingly Stakes 2020 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, July 25th, 2020
  • Track Location: Caulfield Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,200 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Maidens ineligible
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Melbourne Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $160,000 ($128,000 in 2020 due to COVID-19) 
  • Inaugural Race: 1994

Bletchingly Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Bletchingly Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Bletchingly Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Bletchingly Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Bletchingly Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Bletchingly Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Bletchingly Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Bletchingly Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Bletchingly Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Bletchingly Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Bletchingly Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Bletchingly Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Bletchingly Stakes Betting above).
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Bletchingly Stakes 2020 Odds

Early market odds on the Bletchingly Stakes will be displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2020 edition of the Bletchingly Stakes here.

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Bletchingly Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Bletchingly Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Local Legends – This race usually belongs to Melbourne runners who know the famous Caulfield track in and out.
  • Upsets Not Uncommon – A lot of winners have sailed into first place from double digit starting odds, so don’t be afraid to look beyond the favourite.

Bletchingly Stakes Favourites

Early favourites in Bletchingly Stakes betting for 2020 will be listed here the week of the race. 

Bletchingly Stakes 2020 Field

The official 2020 Bletchingly Stakes final field and barriers are announced the Wednesday of race week and will be published in full right here.

Bletchingly Stakes 2020 Tips

Favourite: TBA

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Our insider 2020 Bletchingly Stakes betting tips will be available for punters right here the week of the race.

Bletchingly Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 25th of July, 2020.

Bletchingly Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2020 Bletchingly Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Bletchingly Stakes Nominations

Nominations close by 12:00 PM on Monday, the 20th of July, 2020.

Bletchingly Stakes Weights

Weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 29th of July, 2020.

Bletchingly Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 22nd of July, 2020.

Bletchingly Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1 PM on Wednesday, the 22nd of July, 2020. 

Bletchingly Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 25th of July, 2020.

Bletchingly Stakes Prize Money

Note: The Bletchingly Stakes 2020 prize money is down to $128,000 due to the COVID-19 pandemic including $76,800 for the winner.

The Bletchingly Stakes prize purse is worth $160,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $96,000
2nd $28,800
3rd $14,400
4th $7,200
5th $4,000
6th $3,200
7th $3,200
8th $3,200

Bletchingly Stakes Race Number

The Bletchingly Stakes is likely to run as Race 8 on the 25th of July, 2020. There are nine races in total that day at Caulfield Racecourse.

Bletchingly Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2020’s Bletchingly Stakes has been released.

Bletchingly Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2020 Bletchingly Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Bletchingly Stakes Winners

Winners of the Bletchingly Stakes going back to 2000 are displayed in the table below. If you would like to see results going further back in history, please visit our winners page for this race.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Scales Of Justice Lindsey Smith Dean Yendall 58.5kg 1:10.08
2018 Vega Magic David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 58.5kg 1:10.18
2017 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2016 Lord Of The Sky Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 58.5kg 1:11.62
2015 Smokin’ Joey Wez Hunter Chris Parnham 58.5kg 1:11.29
2014 Thiamandi Lloyd Kennewell Michael Rodd 56kg 1:10.69
2013 Second Effort Clinton McDonald Brad Rawiller 58.5kg 1:11.51
2012 Ready To Rip Peter Moody Luke Nolen 58.5kg 1:12.83
2011 Mid Summer Music Peter Moody Luke Nolen 56.5kg 1:11.40
2010 Shoot Out John Wallace Stathi Katsidis 58kg 1:11.73
2009 Commanding Hope Chris Hyland Nick Ryan 58.5kg 1:11.24
2008 Apache Cat Greg Eurell Michael Rodd 58.5kg 1:09.39
2007 Minson Michael Hibbs Craig Williams 57.5kg 1:09.45
2006 Regal Roller Clinton McDonald Mark Flaherty 57.5kg 1:13.73
2005 Le Zagaletta Lee Freedman Michael Walker 57.5kg 1:14.45
2004 Super Elegant Tony Vasil Patrick Payne 57.5kg 1:06.27
2003 Rubitano Brian Mayfield-Smith Nash Rawiller 57.5kg 1:03.73
2002 Windigo Ramon Goldsmith Noel Callow 57.5kg 1:05.16
2001 Dandy Kid Robbie Griffiths Luke Currie 57.5kg 1:04.39
2000 Sports John Hawkes Neville Wilson 57.5kg 1:04.34