Blamey Stakes

Blamey Stakes, Flemington Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Blamey Stakes? The expert tipsters at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,600 metres every March, the Blamey Stakes takes place during the VRC Autumn Racing Carnival. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts its a range of local, national and international talent each year.

If you’re looking for a good lead in race, you can’t go past the 1,400 Futurity Stakes, taking place the previous weekend.

For its 24 years, the race was run as a Principal Race. Ever since 1979, it has proudly held Group 2 status.

Blamey Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, March 2nd, 2019
  • Track Location: Flemington Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,600 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (with penalties)
  • Qualification: Three years old and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Victoria Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1955

Blamey Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Blamey Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Blamey Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Blamey Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Blamey Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Blamey Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Blamey Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Blamey Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Blamey Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Blamey Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Blamey Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Blamey Stakes

  1. Login at
  2. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Blamey Stakes Betting above).
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Blamey Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Blamey Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 14/02/2018, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Blamey Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Blamey Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Caulfield Performer – If they did well at the Futurity Stakes at Caulfield the week before, then they’re in the running to take out this race as well.
  • No Guarantee Favourites – Favourites do not have the best record in this race. Better to look for a value bet instead.
  • Single Digit Spread – Those with single figure odds, paired with a strong background of winning at mile long races, are your best bet.

Blamey Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Blamey Stakes 2019 Field

The field limit is 16. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer

Blamey Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Blamey Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 2nd of March, 2019.

Blamey Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2018 Blamey Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Blamey Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12 PM on Monday, the 25th of February, 2019.

Blamey Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race.Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Monday, the 25th of February, 2019.

Blamey Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:30 AM on Wednesday, the 27th of February, 2019.

Blamey Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 1 PM on Wednesday, the 27th of February, 2019.

Blamey Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, the 2nd of March, 2019.

Blamey Stakes Prize Money

The Blamey Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through to eighth.

Place Prize Money
1st $120,000
2nd $36,000
3rd $18,000
4th $9,000
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $4,000
8th $4,000

Blamey Stakes Race Number

The Blamey Stakes is race number 6 on the 2nd of March, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Flemington Racecourse.

Blamey Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Blamey Stakes has been released.

Blamey Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Blamey Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Blamey Stakes Winners

Winners of the Blamey Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Humidor Darren Weir Mark Zahra 59 kgs 1:36.84
2017 Palentino Darren Weir Mark Zahra 59 kgs 1:35.44
2016 He Or She David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 55 kgs 1:34.99
2015 Suavito Nigel Blackiston Damien Oliver 57 kgs 1:36.97
2014 Lidari Peter Moody Luke Nolen 55 kgs 1:38.10
2013 Budriguez

puissance De Lune

David Jolly

Darren Weir

Craig Williams

Glen Boss

58 kgs

59 kgs

2012 Green Moon Robert Hickmott Craig Williams 57 kgs 1:35.85
2011 Whobegotyou Mark Kavanagh Damien Oliver 58 kgs 1:36.50
2010 Tavistock Andrew Campbell Jason Waddell 57 kgs 1:36.37
2009 Largo Lad David Hayes Chris Symons 54 kgs 1:38.15
2008 The Fuzz David Hayes Vlad Duric 56.5 kgs 1:36.97
2007 Apache Cat Greg Eurell Damien Oliver 57.5 kgs 1:37.37
2006 Rosden Roslyn Day Adrian Patterson 53.5 kgs 1:33.85
2005 Grey Song Tom Hughes Steven Arnold 56 kgs 1:33.96
2004 Gold Wells Danny O’Brien Damien Oliver 54 kgs 1:36.21
2003 Walk On Air Colin Alderson Danny Nikolic 53 kgs 1:35.11
2002 Tears Royal Grant Dalziel Peter Mertens 54 kgs 1:37.20
2001 Market Price Tony McEvoy Vincent Hall 51.5 kgs 1:37.48
2000 Oliver Twist Brian Mayfield-Smith Damien Oliver 54.5 kgs 1:35.23