Black Opal Stakes

Black Opal Stakes, Canberra Racecourse

Looking for early info on this year’s Black Opal Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Run over 1,200 metres every March, the Black Opal Stakes is a Group 3 race, held during the Autumn racing season. With a $300,000 prize purse, it attracts some of Australia’s best short distance runners.

For its first 3 years, the race had been held as a Principal Race, before a long stint as a Listed Race from 1979-1986. Following eleven years as a Group 2 race, is was downgraded to a Group 3 race in 1999.

Black Opal Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Sunday, March 10th, 2019
  • Track Location: Canberra Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,200 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Set weights (with penalties)
  • Qualification: Two year olds
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 3
  • Operator: Canberra Racing Club
  • Prize Purse: $300,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1973

Black Opal Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Black Opal Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Black Opal Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Black Opal Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Black Opal Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Black Opal Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Black Opal Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Black Opal Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Black Opal Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Black Opal Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Black Opal Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Black Opal Stakes

  1. Login at
  2. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Black Opal Stakes Betting above).
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Black Opal Stakes 2018 Results

Place No. Barrier Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Weight Spread
1 3 2 Encryption James Cummings Glyn Schofield 56 kgs $3
2 12 1 Sizzling Belle Nick Olive Ms Kathy O’Hara 0.5 lengths 55 kgs $7
3 4 5 Bondi Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 0.72 lengths 56 kgs $2.70
4 11 8 Qafila David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damien Oliver 0.9 lengths 55 kgs $6
5 13 6 Dreaming Of Biscay Nick Olive Jeff Penza 1.92 lengths 54 kgs $21
6 8 3 Handle The Truth Keith Dryden & Scott Collings Mathew Cahill 3.87 lengths 56 kgs $17
7 15 4 Republic John P Thompson Christian Reith 6.52 lengths 56 kgs $41
8 9 7 The Unknown Factor Gratz Vella Richard Bensley 9.91 lengths 56 kgs $151
SCR 2 0 Legend Of Condor Gerald Ryan Glyn Schofield
SCR 14 0 Nuclear Blitz Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Corey Brown
SCR 1 0 Prairie Fire Mick Price Mark Zahra
SCR 5 0 Exceltic Gary Portelli Tye Angland
SCR 7 0 Paquirri Gary Moore Tim Clark
SCR 10 0 Tchaikovsky Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn
SCR 6 0 Aylmerton Jean Dubois Jean Van Overmeire

Black Opal Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2018 edition of the Black Opal Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 07/02/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Black Opal Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Black Opal Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Black Opal Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2, TBA #3 and TBA #4.

Black Opal Stakes 2019 Field

The field limit is 14. Once nominations have been released, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer


Black Opal Stakes 2019 Favourites

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Black Opal Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Sunday, the 10th of March, 2019.

Black Opal Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2018 Black Opal Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Black Opal Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11 AM on Tuesday, the 5th of March, 2019.

Black Opal Stakes Weights

Set weights plus penalties apply to this race. The base weight for colts and geldings is is 56 kilograms. The base weight for fillies is is 54 kilograms.Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Wednesday the 7th of March, 2019.

Black Opal Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9 AM on Thursday, the 7th of March, 2019.

Black Opal Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12 PM on Thursday the 7th of March, 2019.

Black Opal Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Sunday the 10th of March, 2019.

Black Opal Stakes Prize Money

The Black Opal Stakes prize purse is worth $300,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $173,700
2nd $56,400
3rd $27,450
4th $13,350
5th $16,000
6th $7,350
7th $3,750
8th $3,750
9th $3,750
10th $3,750

Black Opal Stakes Race Number

Black Opal Stakes is race number 1 on the 10th of March, 2019. There are eight races in total that day at Canberra Racecourse.

Black Opal Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Black Opal Stakes has been released.

Black Opal Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Black Opal Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Black Opal Stakes Winners

Winners of the Black Opal Stakes are displayed in the table below.

Year Winner
2018 Encryption
2017 Trapeze Artist
2016 Defcon
2015 Takedown
2014 Lucky Raquie
2013 Criterion
2012 Epaulette
2011 You’re Canny
2010 Decision Time
2009 Delago Bolt
2008 Sarthemare
2007 race not held
2006 Down The Wicket
2005 Al Samer
2004 Uber
2003 Handsome Ransom
2002 Planchet
2001 Coral Salute
2000 Pembleton
1999 Catbird
1998 Speed Week
1997 Fraud
1996 Paint
1995 Zadok
1994 St. Covet
1993 Danger
1992 Clan O’Sullivan
1991 Sormani
1990 Unspoken Word
1989 Marks Gain
1988 Comely Girl
1987 Maizcay
1986 Just Blooming
1985 New Atlantis
1984 Spirit Of Kingston
1983 Brummel Who
1982 Beans
1981 Chinese Treasure
1980 Nasau
1979 Star Grace
1978 Gold Mosaic
1977 Blazing Saddles
1976 Bianca
1975 Silver Shadow
1974 Royal Brittania
1973 Rich Reward