Australia Stakes

Looking for early info on this year’s Australia Stakes? The experts at Neds have put together everything you need to know before this year’s race.

Australia Stakes, Moonee Valley Racecourse

Run over 1,200 metres, the Australia Stakes is a Group 2 race taking place at Moonee Valley Racecourse. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts many nominations from local, interstate and international horses.

Starting out as a Listed race, this race was made a Group 3 race in 1990, followed by an upgrade to Group 2 status in 1994.

This race is a key lead up into the C.F. Orr Stakes.

Australia Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Friday, January 24th, 2020
  • Track Location: Moonee Valley Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Left-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,200 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Weight for age
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1989

Australia Stakes Betting

New Ways to Bet at neds

There are many different ways to bet on the Australia Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Australia Stakes
Win Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will take first place in this year’s Australia Stakes.
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Australia Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Australia Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Australia Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Australia Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Australia Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Australia Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Australia Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Australia Stakes

  1. Log in at
  2. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Australia Stakes Betting above).
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Australia Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2019 edition of the Australia Stakes here. 

(Please note that the odds below are from 20/11/2019).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Which Horse Will Win The Australia Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Australia Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into considerations are as follows:

  • Mixed Field – Most of the horses in this race have not performed at the Group 1 level before, so look to performers from other black type races such as Group 2, Group 3, Listed and Principal races.
  • Season’s Beginnings – Middle distance sprinters usually enter this race, and most will be beginning their season, so look to last season’s results for a guide to who is well primed coming out of their spell.

Australia Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBA #1, TBA #2 and TBA #3.

Australia Stakes 2019 Field

We will display the field once released to the public.

Australia Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBA.

Best Bet: TBA.

Best Roughie: TBA.

Australia Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Friday, the 24th of January, 2020.

Australia Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2019 Australia Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Australia Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 12:00 PM on Monday, the 20th of January, 2020.

Australia Stakes Weights

Weight for age conditions apply to this race. Final weights will be announced by 4:00 PM on Monday, the 20th of January, 2020.

Australia Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9:00 AM on Wednesday, the 22nd of
January, 2020.

Australia Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12:00 PM on Wednesday, the 22nd of
January, 2020.

Australia Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Friday, the 24th of January, 2020.

Australia Stakes Prize Money

The Australia Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $120,000
2nd $36,000
3rd $18,000
4th $9,000
5th $5,000
6th $4,000
7th $4,000
8th $4,000

Australia Stakes Race Number

The Australia Stakes is race number 7 on Friday, the 24th of January, 2019. There are eight races in total that day at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

Australia Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Australia Stakes has been released.

Australia Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Australia Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Australia Stakes Winners

Winners of the Australia Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2019 Whispering Brook Darren Weir Mark Zahra 56.5 kgs 1:09.84
2018 Thronum David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Mark Zahra 58.5 kgs 1:10.48
2017 Malaguerra Peter Gelagotis Ben Melham 58.5 kgs 1:09.29
2016 Holler John O’Shea Craig Williams 55 kgs 1:10.96
2015 Mourinho Peter Gelagotis Vlad Duric 58.5 kgs 1:09.95
2014 Richie’s Vibe Tony Vasil Damien Oliver 58.5 kgs 1:10.96
2013 Sea Lord Stephen Brown Luke Currie 58.5 kgs 1:10.50
2012 Black Caviar Peter Moody Luke Nolen 56.5 kgs 1:09.44
2011 Whitefriars Rick Worthington Jim Cassidy 58.5 kgs 1:09.66
2010 Black Caviar Peter Moody Luke Nolen 53 kgs 1:10.18
2009 Lucky Secret Tony Vasil Danny Brereton 58.5 kgs 1:11.22
2008 Let Go Thommo Simon Zahra Steven King 58.5 kgs 1:10.80
2007 El Segundo Colin Little Damien Oliver 58.5 kgs 1:11.23
2006 California Dane Lee Freedman Noel Callow 54 kgs 1:09.81
2005 Super Elegant Tony Vasil Greg Childs 57.5 kgs 1:10.59
2004 Vocabulary Mick Price Danny Nikolic 55 kgs 1:11.50
2003 Yell John Hawkes Darren Gauci 54 kgs 1:10.32
2002 Royal Code David Hall Steven Arnold 54 kgs 1:11.01
2001 Piavonic Tony Noonan Nash Rawiller 55 kgs 1:11.80
2000 Slavonic Mick Price Brett Prebble 57.5 kgs 1:12.10