Ajax Stakes

Ajax Stakes, Rosehill Gardens

Run over 1,500 metres every March, the Ajax Stakes is a Group 2 race, held during the Autumn racing season. With a $200,000 prize purse, it attracts some of Australia’s best mid distance runners, including its fair share of international entrants.

The winner of this race gains exemption from the ballot for the 1600 metre Doncaster Mile, taking place in early April.

For its first six years, the race had been held as a Principal Race, followed by three years of being a listed race. The race was then run as Group 3 between 1984 and 2005, and has been a Group 2 race ever since.

Ajax Stakes 2019 – Quick Information

  • Race Day: Saturday, March 16th, 2019
  • Track Location: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
  • Track Surface: Turf
  • Track Direction: Right-handed
  • Race Distance: 1,500 metres
  • Weight Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Qualification: Three year olds and over
  • Type: Thoroughbred
  • Grade: Group 2
  • Operator: Australian Turf Club
  • Prize Purse: $200,000
  • Inaugural Race: 1974

Ajax Stakes Betting

There are many different ways to bet on the Ajax Stakes, we’ve included some of the most popular options below:

Bet Type How To Place This Type Of Bet In This Year’s Ajax Stakes
Place Bet Place your bet on the horse you think will place in the top three finishers at this year’s Ajax Stakes. Pays less than a win bet, but offers safer odds.
Each-Way Bet If your runner finishes 1st in the Ajax Stakes, you will collect both the Win and the Place dividend. If your horse finishes 2nd or 3rd you will collect the Place dividend.
Quinella Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in any order, within the Ajax Stakes, in order to win the Quinella.
Exacta Bet You must select the runners that finish 1st and 2nd in the correct order, within the Ajax Stakes to win the Exacta.
Trifecta Bet You must select runners to finish 1st, 2nd and 3rd in the correct order, within the Ajax Stakes to win the Trifecta.
First Four You must select runners that finish 1st, 2nd ,3rd and 4th in the correct order, within the Ajax Stakes to win the First 4.
Quadrella Bet (Quaddie) You must select the winners of four nominated races to win the Quaddie. This means you would have to select three other races apart from the Ajax Stakes, in order to be eligible to place a Quaddie.

How To Bet On The Ajax Stakes

  1. Log in at neds.com.au
  2. Make sure to check out form guide, once it’s released
  3. Decide what kind of bet you’re going to place (Win, Place, Each-Way, Trifecta + more betting options, please read our section on Ajax Stakes Betting above).
  4. Select the horse(s) for the race.

Ajax Stakes 2019 Odds

Early market odds are displayed below. If you would like to know the current odds, you can check our live market for the 2018 edition of the Ajax Stakes here.

(Please note that the odds below are from 04/03/2019, prior to nominations or acceptances).

All In Win Odds Place Odds

Ajax Stakes 2018 Results

Place No. Horse Barrier Trainer Jockey Weight Margin Spread
1st 3 Comin’ Through 2 C.J.Waller M.Walker 56kg $5.00
2nd 2 Tom Melbourne 4 C.J.Waller B.Shinn 56.5kg 0.2L $3.50
3rd 9 Radipole 1 M.D.Moroney C.Brown 53kg 0.3L $8.00
4th 7 Cellarman 7 C.J.Waller B.Avdulla 53kg 0.6L $10.00
5th 6 Arbeitsam 3 G. Waterhouse & A. Bott T.Clark 54.5kg 0.7L $7.00
6th 1 Prized Icon 6 K.A.Lees G.Schofield 58kg 1.6L $6.50
7th 10 Kingsguard 8 M, W & J.Hawkes J.Ford 53kg 2.1L $26.00
8th 4 McCreery 9 C.J.Waller C.Williams 55.5kg 3.2L $41.00
9th 8 Life Less Ordinary 5 C.J.Waller K.McEvoy 53kg 4.8L $12.00
SCR 5 Interlocuter J.A.Cummings T.Angland

Which Horse Will Win The Ajax Stakes

The best way to pick who will win the Ajax Stakes is to take into account the form, assess the barriers, consider the weight the horse will carry, among other factors.

Additional factors to take into consideration are as follows:

  • Fair Favourites – Odds on favourites have done well in this race, if past results are anything to go by.
  • Flash Forward – Look at horses with top odds in the futures odds for the Doncaster Mile. If your runner is in there, it might be a good pick.
  • Black Background – There isn’t much in the way of a Group race to use as a lead in. Look at the entrants and see if they got first or second in a listed or principal race in the weeks prior.

Ajax Stakes Favourites

Early favourites include TBC #1, TBC #2, TBC #3 and TBC #4.

Ajax Stakes 2019 Field

The field limit is 20. Once nominations occur, we will display the most likely runners in the table below.

Horse Age Sex Past Winnings Trainer

Ajax Stakes 2019 Tips

Favourite: TBC.

Best Bet: TBC.

Best Roughie: TBC.

Ajax Stakes Race Day

Race day takes place on Saturday, the 16th of March, 2019.

Ajax Stakes Barrier Draw

The 2018 Ajax Stakes barrier draw will be released to the public a few days before the race.

Ajax Stakes Nominations

Nominations close at 11 AM on Monday the 11th of March, 2019.

Ajax Stakes Weights

A quality handicap applies to this race. Final weights are announced at 4 PM on Tuesday the 12th of March, 2019.

Ajax Stakes Acceptances

Acceptances must be declared before 9 AM on Wednesday the 13th of March, 2019.

Ajax Stakes Jockeys

The final riders announcement is at 12 PM on Wednesday the 13th of March, 2019.

Ajax Stakes Scratchings

Scratchings close at 7:30 AM on Saturday, 16th of March, 2019.

Ajax Stakes Prize Money

The Ajax Stakes prize purse is worth $200,000 in total, distributed from places first through to tenth.

Place Prize Money
1st $109,350
2nd $36,750
3rd $17,750
4th $8,900
5th $5,250
6th $4,000
7th $3,500
8th $3,500
9th $3,500
10th $3,500

Ajax Stakes Race Number

The Ajax Stakes is race number 3 on the 16th of March, 2019. There are nine races in total that day at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse.

Ajax Stakes Form Guide

The final form guide will be available the week of the race. You can check our full form guide closer to race day to see if the form guide for 2019’s Ajax Stakes has been released.

Ajax Stakes Live

You can watch or listen to the 2019 Ajax Stakes live, across the following mediums.

Pay television: Sky Racing 1 (channel 526 on Foxtel)

Radio: Radio Sport National

Ajax Stakes Winners

Winners of the Ajax Stakes for the past nineteen years are displayed in the table below. For a full list of winners going back to 1973, please check our Ajax Stakes winners page.

Year Winner Trainer Jockey Weight Time
2018 Comin’ Through Chris Waller Michael Walker 56 kgs 1:28.52
2017 It’s Somewhat John O’Shea William Buick 59 kgs 1:31.04
2016 It’s Somewhat John O’Shea Sam Clipperton 57.5 kgs 1:28.16
2015 Burbero Bjorn Baker Brodie Loy 56 kgs 1:29.78
2014 Messene Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James McDonald 54.5 kgs 1:28.14
2013 Havana Rey Bjorn Baker Glyn Schofield 54.5 kgs 1:29.63
2012 Niagara Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 53 kgs 1:28.88
2011 Pureness Gai Waterhouse Glen Boss 52 kgs 1:30.40
2010 Brilliant Light Kerry Parker Jay Ford 52 kgs 1:28.53
2009 Solo Flyer Anthony Cummings Corey Brown 57 kgs 1:28.75
2008 All Silent Grahame Begg Jeff Lloyd 52 kgs 1:29.17
2007 High Cee Bart Cummings Zac Purton 54 kgs 1:29.73
2006 Malcolm John Hawkes Darren Beadman 53 kgs 1:28.70
2005 River To The Sea Diane Poidevin Laine Dale Spriggs 52 kgs 1:27.75
2004 True Glo Lee Freedman Damien Oliver 57.5 kgs 1:28.74
2003 Grand Armee Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 54 kgs 1:28.42
2002 Mowerman John Hawkes Corey Brown 52 kgs 1:27.91
2001 Galiano Paul O’Sullivan Craig Agnew 53 kgs 1:27.70
2000 Normal Practice Danny Williams Mathew Cahill 52.5 kgs 1:28.43